Mattress Reviews

Search through our mattress review database to find reviews of the top-rated mattresses for every type of sleeper.

By Ashley Little

If you’re shopping for a new mattress, you’re probably pretty confused. There are hundreds of options out there, and frankly, they all look the same.

Here at Mattress Advisor, it’s our goal to make mattress shopping simple. We’ve spent hundreds of hours researching mattresses and other sleep products so you don’t have to. Our unbiased, third-party review system ensures that you, the consumer, can receive all the information you need to understand which mattress is best for you. We test each mattress in our testing lab and evaluate it based on our 14-point ratings system.

You can find all of our mattress reviews here, organized by all shopping factors you should be considering.

By clicking on the product links in this article, Mattress Advisor may receive a commission fee at no cost to you, the reader. Read full disclosure statement.

Top-Rated Mattresses

If you came here to see the best of the best, look no further! We’ve compiled a short list of mattresses that received some of the highest scores during our testing and are manufactured by top brands in the mattress industry.

And we’re happy to report that all the mattresses on our top-rated list are made in the USA. Click below to learn more about these brands.

MA Score: 9.4/10

Leesa Hybrid

MA Score: 9.3/10

Puffy Lux

MA Score: 9.2/10

GhostBed Flex

MA Score: 9.1/10

Casper

Brand Reviews

Already have a brand in mind that you want to learn more about? No problem!

We’ve done deep dives on some of the most popular mattress brands online and in-stores. See all of our brand reviews organized by online vs. in-store mattress brands.

Online Mattress Brands

In-Store Mattress Brands

[Back to Top]


Mattress Types

If you’re a seasoned mattress shopper, you may already have an idea of the exact type of mattress you want. Pro tip: if you tend to move around a lot at night, a hybrid or innerspring will be best for you. If you prefer a hugging feeling, then consider a memory foam bed.

See our top-rated memory foam, hybrid, latex, and organic mattresses below.

Customer Rating
MA Score
Summary
Firmness
Type
Trial Period
Warranty
Best Memory Foam

Leesa

Customer Rating
MA Score
9.3 / 10
Summary

Foam blend mattress that's ideal for the average sleeper

Firmness

Medium firm: 6/10

Type

Foam combo

Trial Period

100 days

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Best Hybrid

Saatva

Customer Rating
MA Score
8.7 / 10
Summary

Customizable luxury hybrid mattress

Firmness

Available in plush soft: 3/10; luxury firm: 5.5-6.5/10; and firm: 8/10

Type

Hybrid: coil on coil and memory foam with euro pillow-top

Trial Period

120 days

Warranty

15-year limited warranty

Best Latex

ZenHaven

Customer Rating
MA Score
8.6 / 10
Summary

Durable natural latex mattress by Saatva

Firmness

Soft side: 4-5/10; Firm side: 7-8/10

Type

All-natural latex mattress; flippable

Trial Period

120 days

Warranty

20-year limited warranty

Best Organic

Awara

Customer Rating
MA Score
8.8 / 10
Summary

Natural hybrid mattress that's great for side sleepers and those with allergies.

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Type

Hybrid: Natural Latex and Pocket-Coils

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Limited-lifetime warranty

Memory Foam

Memory foam mattresses are popular in the bed-in-a-box world because they are lighter weight, affordable, and easier to compress into a box. Memory foam mattresses are also extremely comfortable, supportive, and long-lasting in terms of the average mattress lifespan (up to 10 years!).

Check out some of our top-rated memory foam mattress reviews:

Read MoreThe Best Memory Foam Mattresses


Hybrid

Most hybrid mattresses combine the coils of a traditional innerspring mattress with the comforts of a memory foam bed. Some are even infused with copper or gel to take the foam properties to the next level.

A hybrid mattress can equal more than just foam plus coils. Of the mattresses we’ve tested here in our Lab at Mattress Advisor, we’ve seen mattresses with pillow top, latex, hyper-elastic polymer, and even combinations with foam, latex, and coils all together.

A hybrid mattress is a good choice for couples who are having trouble compromising or those who just want the best of both worlds.

Check out some of our favorite hybrid mattress reviews:

Read MoreThe Best Hybrid Mattresses


Latex

Latex mattresses are popular because they are hygienic, (usually) eco-friendly, and exceptional at providing pressure relief. A latex mattress offers a nice alternative for those who enjoy the support and comfort of a foam mattress but don’t want to feel as much “hug” from their bed. In other words, a latex mattress is good for those who want to sleep on the mattress rather than in it.

These mattresses are also great because they offer a great return on investment – a latex mattresses can last up to 15 years. Keep in mind that you get what you pay for and these are some of the more expensive types of mattresses.

Check out some our favorite latex mattress reviews:

Read MoreThe Best Latex Mattresses


Organic

It can be a bit overwhelming to find a bed made of 100% certified organic materials at an affordable price. But we took the guesswork out of the process and will help you find an organic mattress that’s best for you based on comfort, support, and quality.

Check out some of our favorite organic mattress reviews:

Read MoreThe Best Organic Mattresses

[Back to Top]


Sleeping Position

Knowing your primary sleeping position can help direct you to a mattress that will be best suited for you. Side, back, stomach, and combination sleepers all have particular needs. Find the bed that will support your body exactly how you need.

Customer Rating
MA Score
Summary
Firmness
Type
Trial Period
Warranty
Good for Side Sleepers

Puffy Lux

Customer Rating
MA Score
9.3 / 10
Summary

Luxury memory foam mattress the sleeps cool.

Firmness

Medium-soft to medium: 5.5 - 7

Type

Memory foam

Trial Period

101 days

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Good for Stomach Sleepers

Layla

Customer Rating
MA Score
8.8 / 10
Summary

Flippable memory foam mattress known to help people with back and joint pain

Firmness

Soft side: 4-5/10; Firm side: 7/10

Type

Copper-infused memory foam; flippable

Trial Period

120 days

Warranty

Lifetime limited warranty

Good for Back Sleepers

Brooklyn Signature

Customer Rating
MA Score
9.1 / 10
Summary

Responsive hybrid mattress

Firmness

Choose your preference: Available in soft, medium or firm

Type

Hybrid: memory foam and pocket coils

Trial Period

120 days

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Good for Combination Sleepers

Casper

Customer Rating
MA Score
9.1 / 10
Summary

Universal firmness mattress for the average sleeper

Firmness

Medium firm: 6/10

Type

Memory foam

Trial Period

100 days

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Side Sleepers

If you’re a side sleeper, your body weight may not be as evenly distributed as other positions, leading to pain at pressure points such as the hips, shoulders and knees. Side sleepers will prefer a mattress that contours to the body and relieves joint pressure and pain.

Fortunately for side sleepers, this is one of the most popular sleeping positions out there, so there are lots of mattresses designed just for you.

Check out some of our favorite reviews for side sleepers:

Read More: The Best Mattresses for Side Sleepers


Stomach Sleepers

Stomach sleeping is the rarest sleep position out there, accounting for only 7% of the adult population. Without the right mattress, this position can be really tough on your body. A softer mattress puts a ton of pressure on your spine and chest, which may lead to back and neck pain, difficulty breathing, tingling nerves, pressure point pain and general aches and pains.

To avoid discomfort on pressure points and difficulty breathing, you’ll want to find a mattress that’s slightly soft on the top, but firm enough to provide spinal alignment. For this reason, a medium-firm mattress is usually the best mattress for a stomach sleeper.

Check out some of our favorite reviews for stomach sleepers:

Read More: The Best Mattresses for Stomach Sleepers


Back Sleepers

Back sleeping is often recommended by experts as the best position for a body at rest. If you’re a back sleeper, a soft, sink-on-in mattress will put your body in an arch position, and won’t provide you with enough support for restful sleep.

But a mattress that tilts too far in the other direction can feel like a concrete slab to a back sleeper—this puts too much pressure on your back and shoulders causing you to wake up with aches in the morning.

The best mattress for a back sleeper is a medium-firm mattresses that offers a little “give,” with just enough contouring ability to support your body.

Check out our favorite reviews for back sleepers:

Read More: The Best Mattresses for Back Sleepers


Combination Sleepers

If you’re a combination sleeper, you often change positions throughout the night. Because of this, you need a mattress with excellent responsiveness that can easily adapt to your changing positions and provide the same level of support.

Hybrid or latex mattresses tend to be great options for combination sleepers because of their buoyancy. However, there are some memory foam beds with advanced technology that will provide the amount of support that combination sleepers need – typically at a lower price point too.

Check out our favorite reviews for combination sleepers:

Read More: The Best Mattresses for Combination Sleepers

[Back to Top]


Budget

A mattress is a big purchase, but there is also a big price range available in the market. Choose your wallet’s destiny by shopping within your budget, whether that’s tight or unlimited.

[Back to Top]


Sleeping Preferences

There are certain preferences we all have when it comes to our bed. Some are looking for a firm feel, while others prefer a soft, hugging feeling. Some need a mattress with cooling properties because they sleep hot, while others may not need to worry about this feature.

Check out our recommendations based on your sleeping preferences and needs. We’ll even break it down by different lifestyle stages so you can find a bed that matches your particular needs.

Back Pain

Check out some of our favorite mattress reviews for back pain:

More than 80 percent of Americans will experience an episode of low back pain at some time in their lives. If you’re currently sleeping on a mattress that doesn’t offer you the proper support or spinal alignment, there’s a good chance it’s actually making your back or joint pain worse.

Memory foam tends to be the best type of mattress to help cradle your body, relieve pressure points and keep the spine in proper alignment. There are a few hybrid and latex beds that can do this well too. You may have heard a rumor that a rock-hard mattress is best for your back. To be honest, that sounds kind of miserable. And it’s also not true.

While everyone’s preference is going to differ slightly, people who suffer from back pain generally prefer a medium-firm to firm mattress. (This is usually a 5.5 – 7.5 out of 10 on the firmness scale.)

Read MoreThe Best Mattresses for Back Pain


Hot Sleepers

Check out our favorite cooling mattress reviews for hot sleepers:

According to experts, each one of us produces about 26 gallons of sweat in bed each year — and if you tend to be a hot sleeper, that might be a conservative estimate.

There are two big factors to consider when reading mattress reviews for hot sleepers: breathability and heat conductivity. The more breathable the materials are, the better your mattress will be at allowing air in, out, and away from your body so you can stay cool and comfortable while you sleep.

Read MoreThe Best Cooling Mattresses for Hot Sleepers


Heavy People

Check out our favorite mattress reviews for heavy people:

As an above-average-sized person, you know that one size does not fit all, and yet you often have to compromise your comfort because the world is designed mostly for average people. Heavier sleepers need more support and durability in their bed for long-lasting comfort.

Many heavy sleepers also tend to sleep best on a firmer bed as it doesn’t give in as much as a soft bed. We’ve rounded up the top mattresses for overweight people that will provide the added support and comfort you need to get your best sleep possible.

Read MoreThe Best Mattresses for Heavy People


Seniors

Check out our reviews for our favorite mattresses for seniors:

Sleep difficulties are so common among the elderly that we often assume it’s just a normal part of aging. While changes in sleep architecture are normal as we age, sleep deprivation is not. The best mattresses for seniors have sufficient support to maintain neutral spine alignment, enough contouring to relieve pressure points (think heels, hips, shoulders), and some means for regulating body temperature.

High-density memory and latex foam mattresses that are medium or medium firm are especially good choices for seniors who suffer from arthritis, joint pain and back pain. Companies who offer White Glove Delivery and setup make it possible for elderly to not lift a finger when their new bed arrives.

Read MoreThe Best Mattresses for Seniors


Couples

Check out reviews for our favorite beds for couples to share:

Compromising in a relationship can be tough. But your mattress is definitely not a purchase you’ll want to settle on. Whatever your preferences, there are a few key elements you should look for in a mattress when you’re buying a bed to share with someone else.

Things like durability and support are important for a good night’s sleep, but you’ll also want a mattress that has good motion isolation – in other words, if your partner gets up or moves around in the middle of the night, you don’t want to feel it.

Read MoreThe Best Mattresses for Couples


Kids

Check out reviews for our favorite mattresses for your little ones:

Shopping for a bed for your child can be tough. You want their developing mind and body to get the best sleep possible, but you also don’t want to shell out a ton of money for a bed they’re going to outgrow soon. See our top mattress picks for kids where you can get the best of both worlds.

Read MoreThe Best Mattresses for Kids


Soft Mattresses

Check out reviews of our favorite soft mattresses:

Read MoreThe Best Soft Mattresses


Firm Mattresses

Check out reviews of our favorite firm mattresses:

Read MoreThe Best Firm Mattresses

[Back to Top]


Comparison Reviews

If you already have some brands in mind, check out some of our side-by-side comparison reviews here, or use our Mattress Comparison Tool.

sheets

Still deciding between two mattresses?

See how they stack up on the most important factors by using our Comparison Tool.

Compare Mattresses

Why Trust Our Reviews?

Mattress Advisor testing

At Mattress Advisor, we’ve personally tested and reviewed more than 120 of the most popular mattress brands on the market. Our expert review team has conducted over 1,200 hours of product testing to select the best brands for our readers. Simply put: we do the hard work so you can feel confident in your decision to buy a new mattress.

We use the same 14-point evaluation in our Mattress Lab for every single mattress, making our reviews the most comprehensive in the industry. You can take a look at all the factors that go into our product testing to help us generate our Mattress Advisor Score here. You can also check out our roundup of the best mattresses of 2019 which we regularly update with top scoring models.


Comments (1)


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *