Brooklyn Bowery mattress

By clicking on the product links in this article, Mattress Advisor may receive a commission fee at no cost to you, the reader. Read full disclosure statement.

Brooklyn Bowery Mattress Review

✔️Customer Rating: 4.8/5
✔️Mattress Advisor Score: 8.5/10
✔️Type: Foam Combo
✔️Firmness: Medium
✔️Free Shipping & Returns
✔️120-Night Sleep Trial
✔️10-Year Warranty

Get 20% off with the code FALL20!

The Big Takeaway: The Brooklyn Bowery is an all-foam mattress with proprietary foam that boasts the pressure relief of memory foam and the responsive feel of latex. The balanced foam feel is good for the average sleeper. With a budget-friendly price and impressive scores during our testing, the Bowery is an excellent value. 

Who Is the Brooklyn Bowery Mattress Best for?

Brooklyn Bowery is best for: Brooklyn Bowery may not be best for:
  • Every sleeping position
  • Every body type
  • People with back pain
  • Combination sleepers
  • Hot sleepers
  • Lightweight side sleepers
  • Memory foam lovers
  • People who like a firm bed

Brooklyn Bowery Mattress Highlights

Top-rated budget mattress

The Brooklyn Bowery is a budget-friendly bed-in-a-box mattress by Brooklyn Bedding. Its all-foam construction and medium firmness works well for every sleeping position, and its balanced foam feel provides an excellent balance of cushion and support. 

In this review, we’ll tell you everything you need to know about the Bowery—including how it performed at the Mattress Advisor lab, it’s pros and cons, price point, and more—so you can decide if it’s the mattress for you.

What sets it apart:

  • The Brooklyn Bowery is Brooklyn Bedding’s most budget-friendly option with a twin starting at only $499.
  • The Bowery’s proprietary Energex foam brings the pressure relief of memory foam with the ease-of-movement of latex. It creates a balanced foam feel that falls between sleeping “on” and “in” the mattress. 
  • The Bowery performed exceptionally well in our spine alignment test, which tells us it’s a good mattress for people with back pain. 

Read More: Best Memory Foam Mattresses

Video Review

Our sleep testers evaluated the Bowery in-person. Watch how it performed to see if it’s the mattress of your dreams!

Our Mattress Advisor Scores

Check out the table below to see how the Brooklyn Bowery performed in our proprietary testing. We rate each mattress on a scale from 1–10 on 14 factors that evaluate the functional and performance characteristics of the mattress, along with the social responsibility of Brooklyn Bedding. 

Learn more about our review process

Mattress Advisor Test Score (Out of 10)
Shipping 10
Trial Period 10
Return Policy 10
Warranty 9
Set-Up 9.5
Motion Transfer 8
Edge Support 7.5
Pressure Relief 7
Spine Alignment 8.5
Responsiveness 8.5
Cooling 8
Durability 7.5
Customer Service 9
Social Impact 6
⭐Total Score for the Brooklyn Bowery Mattress: 8.5/10⭐

Testing Highlights

✅ Pros

  • Great spine alignment: We found the Bowery to keep our sleep testers’ spines in a healthy, neutral alignment. Proper spinal alignments relieves back pain and body aches. 
  • Impressive responsiveness: Proprietary foam boasts the quick-responsive feel of latex, making it easy to switch positions and get comfy. 
  • Good motion isolation: Couples need a mattress that dampens motion, helping both people sleep peacefully. The Bowery performed well in our motion transfer tests.  
  • Cooling: Open-cell foam promotes breathability, creating a cooler-than-average all-foam mattress

❌ Cons

  • Pressure relief: With a score of 7/10 in our pressure relief test, the Bowery doesn’t cushion pressure points the same way that some foam beds do. 
  • Off-gassing: We noticed a slight odor when first unboxing the Bowery. This scent faded within a few hours. 

Spine Alignment

Good posture is just as important when you’re sleeping as when you’re awake. The trouble is, you have no control over it! Instead, it’s your mattress’s job to ensure that your spine is in a healthy, neutral alignment. 

To determine how well a mattress supports proper spine alignment, we have our sleep testers lie on their sides and see how straight their spines are. Perfect spine alignment occurs when the spine is straight from the base of the back to the neck. As you can see from the images below, our sleep testers’ spines were each in an almost perfect parallel line to the mattress, earning the Bowery an 8.5/10 for spinal alignment.

Spinal alignment of the Brooklyn Bowery

Pressure Relief

Pressure relief is one of the most important factors when it comes to sleep quality and pain relief, especially for side sleepers. You need a mattress that cushions areas like the hips and shoulders, dissipating your body weight along the rest of your body. 

We use a pressure mapping film to determine how well a mattress cushions pressure points. What we’re looking for are cool colors, the blues and greens, which show areas of low pressure. High pressure zones are shown in red, and you don’t want red or you may wake up with pain in your hips and shoulders. 

Take a look at the images below to see how the Bowery performed during our pressure relief test. As you can see, both of our sleep testers had zero high pressure areas when lying on their backs, which is a great thing for back sleepers.

Pressure relief test for back sleepers

Unfortunately, both of their shoulders experienced high pressure when lying on their sides. What this tells us is that side-only sleepers may be better suited by another mattress, one with superior pressure-relieving properties.

Responsiveness

Do you toss and turn a lot in your sleep? If so, you’re not alone. A lot of us change positions throughout the night to stay comfy and cozy. The thing is, not every mattress makes moving around easy. 

Typically, memory foam mattresses are hard to move around on, and innerspring mattresses are easy. However, with new foam technology, this isn’t always the case. For this reason, we test the responsiveness of every mattress that comes through the Mattress Advisor lab. We do this by having our sleep testers lie down and switch from one position to the next, rating how easy it was to move around and get comfy in a new position on a scale from 1-10.

Both of our sleep testers found it easy to toss and turn on the Bowery, and felt comfortable in each new position. They scored the Bowery a combined 8.5/10 for responsiveness—an excellent score for a foam mattress!


How Firm Is It?

The Brooklyn Bowery is a medium firmness mattress. Its firmness falls at a 5 on the 1-10 firmness scale.

Does It Match Your Sleep Type?

Thanks to a medium firmness level and balanced foam feel, the Brooklyn Bowery works for side, back, and stomach sleepers. And due to its responsive foam construction, it’s also great for combination sleepers who spend a lot of the night tossing and turning.

DreamCloud Sleeping Positions

Cooling Factors

The Brooklyn Bowery mattress sleeps cooler than the average mattress. With a score of 8/10 in our cooling evaluation, it’s particularly cool for a mattress made entirely of foam. This cool sleeping experience is thanks to proprietary foams that are extra-breathable, allowing airflow to whisk away excess body heat.

Can It Support Your Weight?

The Brooklyn Bowery bed supports people who weigh up to 350 pounds. In fact, it’s one of the few all-foam beds that does a good job supporting plus-size people. However, we do still typically recommend a hybrid mattress for people who weigh more than 230 pounds as the innersprings boost support and longevity. Take a look at the Brooklyn Bowery Hybrid for extra support. 

What Is the Best Foundation?

You can use most any foundation or bed frame that’s in good condition with the Bowery, just be sure that it provides little-to-no flex. Consider using a box spring foundation, slatted base, platform bed, adjustable frame, or bunkie board.

DreamCloud compatible bases

A Look Inside

The Brooklyn Bedding Bowery mattress is made from three foam layers for a distinct all-foam mattress feel. With both the comfort and support layers made from polyurethane foam, you won’t experience the hugging memory foam experience, but rather a balanced foam feel that falls between sleeping “on” and “in” your mattress.

Inside the Brooklyn Bowery Mattress
  1. Mattress cover: A premium smooth top weave cover with a silky feel and seamless appearance. 
  2. Top layer: A thick comfort layer of Energex foam, a proprietary foam designed to bring the pressure relief of a memory foam mattress with the responsive feel of latex foam. 
  3. Transitional comfort foam: A polyfoam layer that contours to the body’s curves without allowing excess sinkage. 
  4. Base support foam: A high-density polyfoam base layer adds stability and boosts mattress longevity.

Brooklyn Bowery Mattress Sizes, Dimensions, and Pricing

Size Dimensions Weight Price*
Twin 38” x 75” x 10” 35 lbs. $499
Twin XL 38” x 80” x 10” 40 lbs.  $549
Full 53” x 75” x 10” 55 lbs.  $649
Queen 60” x 80” x 10” 70 lbs.  $699
King 76” x 80” x 10” 80 lbs.  $949
Cal King 72” x 84” x 10” 80 lbs.  $949

*Prices listed are standard without sales or Mattress Advisor exclusive discounts. Check price using the button below for the best deals on the Brooklyn Bowery mattress.

How to Set Up Your Mattress

The Bowery mattress comes compressed in thin plastic in a box. We were impressed by how easy it was to unbox the Bowery mattress. We had it set up in just one minute, and it puffed up to life immediately! There was a slight off-gassing odor, but it quickly faded. We didn’t notice any residual scent after just a few hours.


Brooklyn Bedding Buying Guide

Here’s what you can expect when you buy an online mattress from Brooklyn Bedding. 

Policy Details
Delivery Ships free and arrives to your door within 3-4 business days
Trial Period 120 nights
Warranty 10 years
Return Policy Free returns
Financing Available through Affirm

How Shipping Works

Brooklyn Bedding offers free shipping to the lower 48 United States, with an additional fee for shipments to Alaska, Hawaii, and Canada. Shipping time typically takes between 3–4 days.* You can expect your new bed to arrive at your doorstep in a box smaller than you’d expect from a mattress. You won’t need to sign for your new mattress

*With the ongoing effects of COVID-19, shipping times may take longer than normal. Contact Brooklyn Bedding for current shipping times. 

Explore Your Sleep Trial

Every Brooklyn Bedding mattress comes with a risk-free 120-night trial period with free returns. From the day you receive your new bed, you have 120 nights to try it out and make sure that it’s everything you’d hoped it would be. If it isn’t, contact Brooklyn Bedding and they’ll walk you through the return process. They’ll even find a local charity to come and pick up the mattress so it doesn’t go to waste!

Explore Your Warranty

The Bowery mattress comes with an industry-standard 10-year warranty that covers defects in materials or workmanship. If you have a problem with your mattress and want to know if it’s covered by your warranty, reach out to Brooklyn Bedding’s customer service team. 

BB Customer Service

Brooklyn Bedding has excellent customer service, just as you would expect from a leading online mattress company. Every time we’ve reached out, we’ve received immediate and thorough help using the live chat feature at brooklynbedding.com. But if you’re someone who would rather talk to a live human, give them a call at 1-888-210-8751. You can also email them using their online form. 

They’re open 7 days per week, from 7am to 7pm on weekdays and 9am to 5pm on weekends, MST.  

Your Return Policy

Returning a mattress to Brooklyn Bedding is simple, and they offer truly free returns! All you need to do is contact their customer service team to initiate a return, and they’ll help you find a local charity to donate the used mattress. Once the bed has been donated, you’ll receive a full refund on your initial form of payment. 

Brooklyn Bedding accepts returns during the 120-night trial period only after you’ve waited for 30 days. This waiting period ensures that your body has sufficient time to get accustomed to a new mattress. You can think of a new bed like a new workout—it takes time for your musculature to get used to something new. For this reason, it’s important to really give the bed a chance before returning it.  


Should You Buy the Brooklyn Bowery?

The Brooklyn Bedding Bowery mattress is an excellent budget-friendly all-foam mattress. With a medium firmness level and balanced foam feel, the Bowery mattress works for every sleeping position

In our in-house testing, we found the Bowery to excel in spinal alignment, responsiveness, motion isolation, and cooling. What this means is that the Bowery works well for people with back pain, those who toss and turn, couples who share the bed, and hot sleepers. 

While the Bowery mattress works for most sleepers, it’s not the best mattress for everyone. For starters, some people do better with a softer or firmer mattress. Lightweight side sleepers may want to find something softer, while back and stomach sleepers who like a firmer feel should opt for a firm mattress

Additionally, the lack of innerspring coils means the Bowery doesn’t offer the level of support that most plus-size people need. If you weigh more than 230 pounds, you may want to check out one of the beds that made our bed hybrid mattress list. 


Is the Brooklyn Bowery Like Other Mattresses?

Brooklyn Bowery vs Other All-Foam Mattresses

The Bowery is less expensive than the average foam bed, costing less than half the price of many foam mattresses. Its polyfoam construction has a balanced feel that’s unlike that of the foam beds that have generous memory foam layers. Instead of the deep contouring memory foam feel, the Bowery balances cushion, support, and responsiveness for a sensation that falls between sleeping “on” and “in” the mattress.

As for its performance in the Mattress Advisor Lab, the Bowery is better than the average foam mattress when it comes to cooling properties, ease-of-movement, and spinal alignment. However, it earned a lower score than most foam beds for pressure relief, a characteristic particularly important for side sleepers

Brooklyn Bowery vs Other Brooklyn Bedding Mattresses

Brooklyn Bedding offers a wide variety of foam and foam hybrid mattresses. Here’s how the Bowery compares to each of BB’s other mattress models. 

  • Bowery vs Bowery Hybrid: The Bowery Hybrid is another 10” mattress, but it has a supportive layer of innerspring coils rather than the Bowery’s thick layer of base foam. The Hybrid is slightly firmer and more supportive than the all-foam Bowery. Additionally, the Hybrid is cooler thanks to breathable innerspring coils and a quilted cooling gel memory foam top layer. Read our Brooklyn Bowery Hybrid review.
  • Bowery vs Aurora: The Brooklyn Aurora is a luxury hybrid mattress, with a higher price point and thicker profile than the Bowery. Thanks to a thick layer of innerspring coils, the Aurora is cooler and more responsive. Another difference is that the Bowery comes in one firmness level, medium, and the Aurora in three firmness options: soft, medium, and firm. Read our Brooklyn Aurora mattres review
  • Bowery vs Signature: The Brooklyn Signature is another affordable BB mattress, although it’s a hybrid bed rather than an all-foam mattress like the Bowery. In comparison to the Bowery’s medium firmness level, the Signature comes in three firmness options: soft, medium, and firm. Performance-wise, the Signature’s TitanFlex foam delivers superior pressure relief and edge support, while the Bowery is better at motion isolation, perfect for couples. Read our Brooklyn Signature mattress review.  
  • Bowery vs Sedona: The Brooklyn Sedona is the most luxurious BB mattress. The Sedona’s construction differs greatly from the all-foam Bowery. It boasts innerspring and memory foam, creating a deeper contouring feel and greater support. The Sedona is better for bigger bodies, and it comes in three firmness options (soft, medium, and firm), compared to the one firmness of the Bowery
  • Bowery vs Spartan: The Brooklyn Spartan is a luxury hybrid mattress with polyfoam, memory foam, and innerspring layers. It’s thicker and more supportive than the Bowery, better for plus-size people. It comes in more firmness options than the Bowery, so people who like soft or firm beds are better suited by the Spartan. The Spartan is one of our highest scoring mattresses. The only test that the Bowery outperformed the Spartan was motion isolation. Read our Spartan mattress review
  • Bowery vs Bloom: The Brooklyn Bloom is an eco-friendly hybrid mattress. The materials of these two mattresses couldn’t be more different. The Bowery uses a variety of polyfoams for a balanced foam feel while the Bloom utilizes natural and recycled materials. The Bloom’s layers include an organic cotton cover, organic wool padding, natural Talalay latex, and recycled steel coils. The Bloom offers superior pressure relief, durability, and cooling properties. The Bowery is less expensive and better isolates motion. Read our Brooklyn Bloom mattress review
  • Bowery vs Titan: The Titan is a hybrid bed designed specifically for plus-size people. It’s firmer than the Bowery and delivers better spine alignment for back and stomach sleepers. The Bowery’s softer feel is superior for side sleepers, and it’s less expensive than the Titan. Read our Titan mattress review
  • Bowery vs Plank: The Plank is a two-sided all-foam mattress that’s much firmer than the Bowery. The Bowery is better for the average sleeper and side sleepers while the Plank is a good option for anyone who desires an all-foam feel with unparalleled support. Read our Plank review.
Sheets by a Window

Compare Brooklyn Bowery to Other Mattresses

Interested to see how the Brooklyn Bowery compares to other mattresses?
Click here to check out our comparison tool.

Compare Brooklyn Bowery

Other Products Sold by Brooklyn Bedding


Brooklyn Bowery Mattress FAQs

Where are Brooklyn Bedding mattresses made?

Every BB mattress is manufactured in the USA.

Can you buy the Bowery mattress on Amazon?

No, you cannot. Brooklyn Bedding sells this mattress directly to you, the consumer, either through brooklynbedding.com or one of their few retail locations.

Does Brooklyn Bedding use any chemical fire retardants?

No, Brooklyn Bedding uses physical rather than chemical fire retardants to simultaneously safeguard the mattress from fire while protecting their consumers’ health and safety.

By clicking on the product links in this article, Mattress Advisor may receive a commission fee at no cost to you, the reader. Read full disclosure statement.

Brooklyn Bowery Mattress Review IRL

Meet Hannah

Hannah is a graduate student at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill pursuing her master’s in Occupational Therapy. Post-undergrad Hannah needed a mattress upgrade for her new apartment. She said so long to the days of twin beds and found herself sleeping on a Brooklyn Bowery queen.

Hannah is strictly a side sleeper, though she is not partial to one or the other. Either side will do! She doesn’t have any special sleeping conditions, except for the fact her feet are always getting hot. In this season of life, Hannah is sleeping alone most nights.

Before owning the Brooklyn Bowery, Hannah was sleeping on an old twin mattress that had been passed down in her family for years.

The Buying Process

MA: Why were you in the market for a new mattress?

H: I was moving into a new apartment for graduate school and wanted to invest in a larger bed and higher quality mattress.

MA: What factors did you consider when buying a mattress?

H: I considered the size because I am single and would have to transport it by myself. I need something easy to maneuver alone! I also considered price, since I am a graduate student. Lastly, I looked into firmness because I sleep on my side. I wanted a mattress that would cradle my body, especially neck and shoulders.

MA: Did you compare any other brands? If so, what were they?

H: Purple popped up on my social media a lot so I looked into that one. I also looked at the Tuft & Needle because my brother bought it.

MA: What ultimately led you to purchase the Brooklyn Bowery mattress?

H: Price. The Brooklyn Bowery was a nice budget-friendly option. I’d say it was a mid-range price point.

MA: What was your mattress buying experience like?

H: Buying the Brooklyn Bowery mattress was incredibly easy. It just took a few clicks online and the mattress arrived within a week to our door.

After One Night...

Mattress was delivered on 6/18/2018; First interview was conducted on 6/19/2018

MA: Overall, how would you describe your first night on the Brooklyn Bowery mattress?

H: Great. The mattress was soft but supportive. I had a solid night’s sleep.

MA: Did you notice any difference in how you felt when you woke up?

H: I didn’t notice any significant difference to how I feel when I get a good night’s sleep.

MA: How does this compare to other mattresses you’ve had in the past?

H: Much, much better. The soft layer at the top of the Brooklyn Bowery really helps when it comes to comfort. Because I only sleep on my sides, often I wake up with a sore shoulder. The soft foam top layer of the BB prevented that from happening.

MA: How would you rank the Brooklyn Bowery mattress on the following factors?

On a scale from 1-5 with 1 being the worst and 5 being the best.

Motion transfer (feeling little to no movement from your sleeping partner): 4
Support (body weight distributed evenly, no pains or aches): 4
Responsiveness (adjusts/responds to your body movements): 4.5
Temperature control (keeps you cool): 3

MA: How firm would you say the Brooklyn Bowery is?

H:  I would say this mattress is pretty firm. There is definitely a soft foam layer at the top, but when you sit upright in bed, you can feel the transition into the firmer base layers. I really liked that aspect. It provides great foundational support without being uncomfortable at the surface.

MA: Do you have any complaints about the Brooklyn Bowery? Or anything you would change if you could?

H: My only complaint is that the BB advertises infused cooling gel that helps air flow and cooling. Personally, I didn’t experience that. I’m usually not a hot sleeper but I felt hot when I slept on it for the first time.

MA: Do you feel like the Brooklyn Bowery mattress was worth the price you paid?

H: Yes.

MA: What is one thing you would change about this mattress if you could?

H: It doesn’t have great edge support. When you sit on the edge of the mattress you slide off.

MA: Do you think you’ll keep your Brooklyn Bowery mattress?

H: Yes.

After One Week...

Mattress was delivered on 6/18/2018; Second interview was conducted on 6/26/2018

MA: Overall, how would you describe your first week on the Brooklyn Bowery mattress?

H: Good! I am transitioning better to this new mattress than I have to others.

MA: How are you feeling when you wake up?

H: Rested. The mattress offers good support, although it is still on the firm side. I wouldn’t mind an extra layer of softer foam on the top. Just a personal preference.

MA: How would you rank the Brooklyn Bowery mattress on the following factors after sleeping on it for a week?

On a scale from 1-5 with 1 being the worst and 5 being the best.

Motion transfer (feeling little to no movement from your sleeping partner): 5
Support (body weight distributed evenly, no pains or aches): 5
Responsiveness (adjusts/responds to your body movements): 4
Temperature control (keeps you cool): 3

MA: Are you still happy with the firmness of your Brooklyn Bowery?

H: As I mentioned above, the firmness definitely provides support but I wouldn’t mind a little more cushion. I sleep on my side and I think having a mattress with more cushion might help with the cricks I sometimes get in my shoulder/neck.

MA: Do you have any new complaints about the Brooklyn Bowery? Or anything you would change if you could?

H: Edge support. I would probably give edge support a 5/10. It doesn’t allow you to sit comfortably on the side of your bed without sliding off.

MA: Do you still feel like the Brooklyn Bowery mattress was worth the price you paid?

H:   I still think it’s worth the money!

MA: Do you think you’ll keep your Brooklyn Bowery mattress?

H: Definitely.

After One Month

Mattress was delivered on 6/18/2018; Third interview was conducted on 7/20/2018

MA: Overall, how would you describe your first month on the Brooklyn Bowery mattress?

H: Wonderful! Would definitely recommend to family and friends.

MA: How are you feeling when you wake up?

H: Rested. Once I fall asleep, I definitely sleep through the night. The mattress is very supportive and comforting. Makes me excited to go to sleep each night.

MA: How would you rank the Brooklyn Bowery mattress on the following factors after sleeping on it for a week?

On a scale from 1-5 with 1 being the worst and 5 being the best.

Motion transfer (feeling little to no movement from your sleeping partner): 5
Support (body weight distributed evenly, no pains or aches): 4
Responsiveness (adjusts/responds to your body movements): 4
Temperature control (keeps you cool): 3

MA: Are you still happy with the firmness of your Brooklyn Bowery?

H:  Yes, it’s on the firm side but I prefer that over a soft mattress where you sink in. Since I’m a side sleeper, I’ve been looking into different pillows to help with shoulder cramps. I’ve realized that stiffness in the shoulder isn’t always the mattresses fault. I was using a low-quality pillow which I think contributed to most of the soreness.

MA: Do you have any new complaints about the Brooklyn Bowery? Or anything you would change if you could?

H: I still feel a bit hot when sleeping, which I’ve heard can be expected with foam mattresses. The BB tries to account for that issue with their infused cooling gel in the top foam layer- but I think they still need to look into further improvements with that.

MA: Do you still feel like the Brooklyn Bowery mattress was worth the price you paid?

H:   Yes.

MA: Do you think you’ll keep your Brooklyn Bowery mattress?

H: For sure! Wouldn’t change it for the world 🙂

You May Also Like...

Casper Element

Brooklyn Signature

Tuft & Needle

Love & Sleep


Comments (0)