Cocoon Chill Hybrid by Sealy Mattress Review

cocoon hybrid lifestyle

By clicking on the product links in this article, Mattress Advisor may receive a commission fee at no cost to you, the reader. Read full disclosure statement.

Cocoon Chill Hybrid by Sealy Mattress Review

✔️Last updated: April 2021

✔️Customer Rating: 4.5/5
✔️Mattress Advisor Score: 8.6/10
✔️Type: Hybrid
✔️Firmness: Medium
✔️Free Shipping & Returns
✔️100-Night Sleep Trial
✔️10-Year Warranty

Get 35% off + Free Pillows & Sheet Set

Summing it up: The Cocoon Chill Hybrid is a medium-firm luxury memory foam and innerspring hybrid mattress. It scored highly in our tests for motion isolation, edge support, pressure relief, alignment, cooling, and durability, making it an all-around excellent mattress. Plus, it supports back, side, and stomach sleepers

Who Is the Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress Best for?

Cocoon Chill Hybrid is best for: Cocoon Chill Hybrid may not be best for:
  • Couples and those who co-sleep
  • Every sleeping position
  • Hot sleepers
  • People with back pain and body aches
  • Those who love the memory foam feel
  • Budget shoppers
  • People who toss and turn
  • Extra-firm mattress lovers

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress Review Highlights

top rated hybrid mattress badge

Sealy has been around for well over a century, and they continue to be a leader in the mattress industry today. The Sealy Cocoon Chill Hybrid mattress boasts thick layers of memory foam and individually-encased coils for maximum comfort. We brought this bed ino the Mattress Advisor lab to put it to the test. See how it performed and learn everything you need to know to decide if it’s the right mattress for you. 

Highlighting the main features:

  • This mattress earned a high score in our pressure relief test, a test that’s important for side sleepers. Its generous layers of memory foam melt pressure away from sensitive areas like the hips and shoulders.
  • Thanks to an impressive performance in our tests for motion isolation and edge support, we recommend the Cocoon Chill Hybrid for couples.
  • The Cocoon Chill provided healthy spine alignment in the Mattress Advisor lab. Its thick layer of pocketed coils cushion and support all of the right areas. 
  • With free shipping to all 50 states and a 100-night sleep trial with free returns, there’s no risk to trying the Cocoon Chill Hybrid. 
  • This bed is extra-durable, supporting people who weigh up to 500 pounds.

How Did It Score?

We put the Cocoon Chill Hybrid to our 14-point evaluation when we tested it in the Mattress Advisor lab. See how it performed, paying close attention to the tests that matter most to you—for instance, spinal alignment is particularly important for people with back pain

Learn more about Our Review Process.

Mattress Advisor Test Score (Out of 10)
Shipping 8
Trial Period 9
Return Policy 10
Warranty 9
Set-Up 8.5
Motion Transfer 8.15
Edge Support 8.25
Pressure Relief 8.9
Spine Alignment 8.75
Responsiveness 7.75
Cooling 8.5
Durability 8.5
Customer Service 9
Social Impact 5
⭐Total Score for the Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress: 8.6/10⭐

Pros and Cons

✅ Pros

  • Cushions Pressure Points: The Cocoon Chill earned an 8.9/10 for pressure relief, so it will cushion sensitive areas like the shoulders and hips. 
  • Supports a Healthy Spine: With memory foam and a thick layer of individually encased coils, we weren’t surprised when the Chill performed well during our spine alignment test. We gave it an 8.75/10.
  • Sleeps Cool: A cooling cover and breathable layer of innerspring coils makes this bed great for hot sleepers
  • Good for Couples: With high scores in our tests for edge support and motion isolation, couples can spread out and move around without waking their partner. 

❌ Cons

  • Initial Odor: The Cocoon Chill has an odor when first unboxed. Known as off-gassing, the scent is temporary and common with memory foam hybrid mattresses. 
  • Moderate Sinkage: This bed didn’t perform so well in our responsiveness test. Our sleep testers felt a bit stuck when switching from one position to the next, although it wasn’t as severe as with some all-foam mattresses.

Pressure Relief

To test the level of pressure relief a mattress offers, we have our sleep testers lie on top of the mattress with a pressure mapping film between them and the bed. We then take a look at the computer-generated images for regions of high pressure. What we want to see are cool colors—greens and blues—with very few warm colors—yellows and reds. Reds indicate excess pressure that’s likely to result in pain and discomfort. 

Take a look at the images below. There were zero regions of red, no matter whether our testers were on their sides, backs, or stomachs.

There was a small amount of yellow at the hips and shoulders when our testers were on their sides, and just a bit at the lower back of one of our testers when lying on their back. This impressive performance earned the Cocoon Chill an 8.9/10 for pressure relief—great for stomach sleepers and people who have joint pain. 

Responsiveness

Have you ever felt stuck in a mattress? Some beds, particularly memory foam mattresses and hybrids with generous foam layers, can allow some sleepers to sink in too far. When this happens, it’s hard to get out of bed and to change from one position to another. Responsiveness is a term that describes how well a mattress adapts to your movements. The more responsive, the less stuck you’ll feel and the easier it is to move around. 

We have our sleep experts lie on a mattress and change from one sleep position to another, rating it on a 1–10 scale based on how easy it was to move and get comfy in a new position. People who toss and turn typically sleep better on a highly responsive mattress. 

Our testers gave the Cocoon Chill Hybrid a combined score of 7.75/10 for responsiveness. While this isn’t among the worst scores we’ve seen, it also isn’t one of the highest performers. The thick layers of memory foam offer exceptional contouring, but they don’t make it easy to move around.  

Alignment

Healthy posture doesn’t stop being important when you lie down. The trouble is, you no longer have control over it! That’s why we test every mattress for how well it supports proper spine alignment. 

We have our sleep testers lie on their sides and examine how well their spines are supported. Ideally, we want to see a straight line along the entire spine. As you can see from the image of Katie below, this bed kept her spine very straight, with just a slight upward curve at the top of the spine.

We gave the Cocoon Chill Hybrid an 8.75/10—an excellent score and what we want to see in a mattress for people with back pain or body aches.

What Is the Firmness Level?

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid is a medium firmness mattress. Its feel falls at a 5 on the 1–10 firmness scale, with 1 being the softest and 10 the firmest. Its balance between plush comfort and support makes it work well for the average sleeper. 

Is It Compatible with Your Sleep Position?

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid properly supports stomach, side, and back sleepers. Side sleepers are well-suited by the plush memory foam top layer while the average stomach sleepers and back sleepers do well with the combination of cushion and support. If you want to explore some additional options, check out our guides below.

Combination sleepers are also supported on this bed thanks to it being a good bed for all sleeping positions. However, you should be aware that it does have a distinct contouring feel that can make switching positions somewhat challenging. 

Will It Regulate Your Temperature at Night?

The Cocoon Chill does a good job supporting optimal temperature regulation. Patented phase change material found in the cover moves heat away from the mattress surface, while breathable innerspring coils limit body heat buildup over the night. 

Body Type Support

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid supports all body types. The soft surface allows lightweight sleepers to experience pressure relief while the durable innerspring coils provide the durability needed by heavier people. This mattress has a weight limit of 500 pounds per side of the mattress for full-size beds and larger and 500 pounds total for twin and twin XL mattresses. 

Foundation Compatibility

The Cocoon Chill is best supported on sturdy foundations. This includes a newer box spring, adjustable base, platform bed, or slatted base with slats no more than five inches apart.

Mattress Layers

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid is a four-layer mattress made from CertiPUR-US certified memory foam and polyfoam layers and a support layer of bouncy innerspring coils.

inside cocoon hybrid
  1. Cooling Mattress Cover: A breathable cover with cooling phase change materials helps keep the sleeping surface cool. 
  2. Perfect Fit Memory Foam Comfort Layer: A plush top layer of memory foam readily cushions the body’s curves, providing excellent pressure-relieving properties and a cloud-like feel. 
  3. Perfect Fit Memory Foam Transition Layer: A medium-firm memory foam protects the body from the steel coils below while offering a distinctly memory foam mattress feel. 
  4. Pocketed Innerspring Coil Support Layer: Individually wrapped coils move independently, delivering balanced support across the entire mattress surface. Quantum Edge coils reinforce the perimeter to create sturdy edges. 
  5. Support Foam Base Layer: High-density polyfoam is used for durability and even greater motion-dampening properties.

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress Sizes, Dimensions, and Pricing

Size Dimensions Weight Price*
Twin 38” x 74.5” x 12” 53 lbs.  $999
Twin XL 38” x 79.5” x 12” 56 lbs.  $1,199
Full 53” x 74.5” x 12” 70 lbs.  $1,299
Queen 60” x 79.5” x 12” 82 lbs.  $1,499
King 76” x 79.5” x 12” 106 lbs.  $1,699
California King 72” x 83.5” x 12” 105 lbs.  $1,699

*Prices do not reflect exclusive offers or discounts. Click below to see the best price for the Cocoon Chill Hybrid mattress.

Setting Up the Mattress

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid mattress comes compressed in a 15” x 15” x 44” box. When we unboxed the mattress, we found it very easy to unroll, taking us just over two minutes to set up. There was a slight off-gassing odor, but rest assured that any scent is temporary.


Sealy Buying Information

First time buying a mattress online? In this section, we’ll outline exactly what you can expect so you aren’t surprised. 

Policy Details
Delivery Free delivery to all 50 states
Trial Period 100 nights
Warranty 10 years
Return Policy Free returns during sleep trial
Financing Cocoon by Sealy Credit Card

How much Is Shipping?

Sealy offers free shipping anywhere in the United States, even to Hawaii and Alaska. Your new mattress will arrive compressed in a box, delivered by UPS. You won’t need to be home to sign for the package. 

Most Cocoon Chill mattresses are delivered within five to seven days from the date the order is placed. Seally offers expedited shipping for an added cost that varies based on desired shipping time and location.  

Sleep Trial Breakdown

The Cocoon Chill comes with an industry-standard, 100-night trial period backed by a full refund. From the date your new bed arrives at your doorstep, you have 100 nights to give it a test run. If you decide this mattress isn’t the one for you during this time, simply contact Sealy customer service and they’ll help organize a return. 

Unlike many other companies, Sealy doesn’t make you wait 30 days before initiating a return. However, they still ask that you give the bed a try for 30 days to make sure that it’s fully broken in and that your body has had time to adjust to it.  

Mattress Warranty Info

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid mattress is backed by a 10-year warranty that covers defects in workmanship or materials. This includes things like body indentations of greater than one inch. To file a warranty claim, call Sealy at 1-888-818-4039 or email them at support@cocoonbysealy.com.

Customer Service

We have only good things to say about our experiences with Sealy’s customer service team. By using the live chat feature at cocoonbysealy.com, we’ve never had to wait for helpful and friendly service. You can also email them at support@cocoonbysealy.com or call them at 1-888-818-4039. They’re open the following hours.

  • Monday–Friday: 8 a.m.–8 p.m. EST 
  • Saturday–Sunday: 9 a.m.–8 p.m. EST

Mattress Return Policy

Contact Sealy’s customer service team if you want to return your mattress during the 100-night trial period. A Sealy representative will work with you to find a local charity to pick up your mattress or a mattress recycling center. After the bed has been recycled or donated, you can expect a refund in one to two days.  


Should You Buy the Cocoon Chill Hybrid?

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid is an excellent luxury mattress for memory foam lovers who enjoy the bouncy innerspring mattress feel. Its medium firmness combines the plush pressure relief needed by side sleepers with the durable support required for heavier bodies. This balanced feel works well for most sleepers, no matter your body shape or sleeping position

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid earned an 8/10 or higher in nearly every test that influences comfort and sleep quality, including our pressure relief, spine alignment, motion isolation, edge support, cooling, and durability tests. The only one of these tests that this mattress didn’t excel in was our responsiveness test, earning a 7.75/10. If you’re someone who spends much of your night tossing and turning, we recommend checking out our Leesa Hybrid Mattress Review.  


See How Cocoon Chill Hybrid Compares

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid vs Other Hybrid Mattresses

The Cocoon Chill is a luxury hybrid mattress. While its price point is greater than that of the average hybrid bed, it’s still an excellent deal for such a high-quality mattress. Its medium firmness level falls just softer than average, so if you’re someone who prefers an extra-soft or firm mattress, you’ll want to look elsewhere. 

While most hybrid beds are crafted from foam and innerspring coils, the generous layers of memory foam make the Cocoon Chill stand out amongst its competitors. Most other hybrids use polyfoam in their comfort layers. The memory foam construction of this mattress means that you’ll feel hugged by this bed, and the result is outstanding cushion and pressure relief. This makes it one of the best mattresses for memory foam and innerspring lovers. 

Related: Best Hybrid Mattresses

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid vs the Cocoon Classic

Cocoon by Sealy manufactures two mattresses: the Cocoon Chill Hybrid and the flagship Cocoon Chill Memory Foam. What sets these beds apart is that the hybrid’s support core is made from innerspring coils while the Cocoon Chill Memory Foam is an all-foam bed

This difference in support system leads to differences in feel and performance. While both beds have a contouring memory foam feel, the hybrid has a noticeable bounce to it that the classic Chill model does not. The addition of innerspring coils makes the Cocoon Chill Hybrid cooler and better for bigger bodies. The all-foam construction of the Cocoon Chill Memory Foam means superior motion isolation, which is a good thing for people who share the bed. 

While the original Cocoon Chill mattress once came in a medium-soft version and firm model, it now only comes in a medium firmness level. This firmness is similar to that of the Cocoon Chill Hybrid. 

Learn more about the Cocoon Chill Memory Foam in our Cocoon Chill Mattress Review


Other Products Sold by Cocoon

cocoon mattress

Mattress FAQs

Q.

 Can I try the Cocoon Chill mattress at a store?

A.

No, you cannot. The Sealy Cocoon Chill and Cocoon Chill Hybrid are two of the very few Sealy mattresses that aren’t available in stores. By eliminating middlemen costs, Sealy is able to sell these bed-in-a-box mattresses at a lower cost.

Q.

Where is this mattress made? 

A.

The Cocoon Chill bed is manufactured here in the USA in Sealy’s Mississippi factory.

Q.

Should I use a mattress protector with my new bed?

A.

We recommend that you do. A mattress protector is the only way to fully protect your investment from spills, accidents, and other damage that could void the sleep trial and warranty.

You May Also Like...