Helix Midnight

By clicking on the product links in this article, Mattress Advisor may receive a commission fee at no cost to you, the reader. Read full disclosure statement.

Helix Mattress Reviews

On the hunt for a new mattress? We’ll help you narrow down the best Helix bed for your needs.


Black Friday Sale: Up to $200 OFF + 2 FREE Dream Pillows

Helix offers an incredible customer experience when it comes to mattress shopping. Using their sleep quiz and Color-MATCH system, you’ll be paired with a mattress that is just right for your needs!

If you’re looking for a personalized mattress shopping experience, Helix is the way to go. Keep reading to see our full Helix mattress reviews and comparisons, and find the best Helix for you.

Helix Mattress Models

Helix has 14 mattresses to choose from with different firmness levels: 6 regular Helix models, 6 Luxe Helix models, the Helix Plus, and the organic Birch mattress. See how they stack up side-by-side. Keep in mind that the Midnight model is the most popular bed of both the regular Helix and Helix Luxe collections.

Customer Rating
MA Score
Summary
Firmness
Type
Trial Period
Warranty

Helix Midnight

Customer Rating
MA Score
8.9 / 10
Summary

Cooling hybrid mattress with a medium feel

Firmness

Medium: 4-7/10

Type

Hybrid: foam and pocket coils

Trial Period

100 days

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Helix Plus (Nightfall)

Customer Rating
MA Score
8.1 / 10
Summary

Hybrid mattress built for plus size sleepers

Firmness

Firm: 7-8/10

Type

Hybrid: foam and coils

Trial Period

100 days

Warranty

15-year limited warranty

Helix Midnight LUXE

Customer Rating
MA Score
8.9 / 10
Summary

Ultra-cooling hybrid mattress with zoned-support

Firmness

Medium firm: 6/10

Type

Hybrid: foam and pocket coils

Trial Period

100 days

Warranty

15-year limited warranty

Birch Mattress

Customer Rating
MA Score
8.7 / 10
Summary

All natural hybrid mattress for all sleepers

Firmness

Medium-Firm: 7/10

Type

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 days

Warranty

25-year warranty

Customer Rating
MA Score
Summary
Firmness
Type
Trial Period
Warranty

Helix Sunset

Customer Rating
MA Score
8.5 / 10
Summary

Hybrid mattress with a soft feel for side sleepers

Firmness

Soft: 2-3/10

Type

Hybrid: foam and pocket coils

Trial Period

100 days

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Helix Moonlight

Customer Rating
MA Score
8.6 / 10
Summary

Cooling hybrid mattress with a soft feel

Firmness

Soft: 2-3/10

Type

Hybrid: foam and pocket coils

Trial Period

100 days

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Helix Dusk

Customer Rating
MA Score
8.9 / 10
Summary

Luxury hybrid mattress with a medium feel

Firmness

Firm: 5-6/10

Type

Hybrid: foam and pocket coils

Trial Period

100 days

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Helix Twilight

Customer Rating
MA Score
8.95 / 10
Summary

Durable hybrid mattress with a firm feel

Firmness

Firm: 8-9/10

Type

Hybrid: foam and pocket coils

Trial Period

100 days

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Helix Dawn

Customer Rating
MA Score
8.8 / 10
Summary

Durable hybrid mattress with a firm feel

Firmness

Firm: 8-9/10

Type

Hybrid: foam and pocket coils

Trial Period

100 days

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

In this next section we’ll go a bit deeper so you can see the highlights for each mattress Helix has to offer.

Helix Midnight

Helix Midnight Mattress

The most popular Helix model offers medium firmness to all types of sleepers and all sleep positions. Its excellent performance in our mattress lab test allows to to work for most people, but its nearly perfect score in our motion isolation test makes a the best choice for couples.

  • Type: Hybrid
  • Specifics: 4 layers, 12”
  • Price Range: $600-$1,249
  • Best For: Couples
Helix Plus mattress

Helix Plus Mattress

Helix Plus is designed for heavy people and plus-sized sleepers. Offering great pressure point relief and temperature regulation, you will sleep cool and pain-free all night long. We also can’t forget to mention this bed’s durability that will keep you from sinking too far into the mattress.

  • Type: Hybrid
  • Specifics: 5 layers, 12”
  • Price Range: $825-$1,999
  • Best For: Heavy people
Helix Midnight Luxe mattress

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Midnight Luxe mattress is the luxury model of the regular Helix Midnight. It has a medium feel and 6 layers that come together to provide a support, cool sleep experience.

  • Type: Hybrid
  • Specifics: 6 layers, 14”
  • Price Range: $995-$2,199
  • Best For: Hot sleepers; seniors
Birch mattress

Birch Mattress

For all you environmentally friendly shoppers, the Birch mattress is for you. It has wool comfort layers and uses latex to relieve pressure. The U.S. manufactured steel layer adds support to the mattress.

  • Type: Natural hybrid mattress
  • Specifics: 5 layers, 11”
  • Price Range: $1,049-$1,799
  • Best For: Eco-conscious shoppers
Helix Sunset

Helix Sunset Mattress

The Helix Sunset is a plush soft mattress that’s great for side sleepers. The pressure relieving memory foam allows your body to sink into the bed and keeps your spine aligned.

  • Type: Hybrid
  • Specifics: 4 layers, 12”
  • Price Range: $600-$1,249
  • Best For: Side sleepers
Helix Moonlight

Helix Moonlight Mattress

The Helix Moonlight is another plush mattress, but its contouring foam layer allows this bed to work for back and stomach sleepers as well, relieving lower back pain.

  • Type: Hybrid
  • Specifics: 4 layers, 12”
  • Price Range: $600-$1,249
  • Best For: Back pain
Helix Dusk

Helix Dusk Mattress

Helix Dusk is another mattress that offers a medium feel for all sleep positions, including stomach sleepers and back sleepers. So as you toss and turn at night, no matter what position you end up in, the Dusk mattress works for you.

  • Type: Hybrid
  • Specifics: 4 layers, 12”
  • Price Range: $600-$1,249
  • Best For: Combination sleepers
Helix Twilight

Helix Twilight Mattress

The Twilight mattress has a firm feel that back sleepers love. The pressure relief layer in this firm mattress keeps undue pressure away from your lower back and shoulders.

  • Type: Hybrid
  • Specifics: 4 layers, 12”
  • Price Range: $600-$1,249
  • Best For: Back sleepers
Helix Dawn

Helix Dawn Mattress

The firmest option, the Helix Dawn allows for no give. You sleep on top of the mattress rather than sinking down into it, something stomach sleepers need.

  • Type: Hybrid
  • Specifics: 4 layers, 12”
  • Price Range: $600-$1,249
  • Best For: Stomach sleepers

Compare Helix Testing Scores

See how each Helix bed did the performance segment of our lab tests.

 

Helix Midnight Helix Plus Helix Midnight Luxe Birch
Motion Transfer 8.75 7 7.75 9
Edge Support 10 4 8 8
Pressure Relief 8.5 8 8.5 8
Spinal Alignment 8.75 8.5 9 8.5
Responsiveness 8.25 5.5 8.75 8
Cooling Evaluation 8 8 9.5 7
Durability Evaluation 8.5 8.5 9 8.5
TOTAL SCORE 8.9/10 8.0/10 8.9/10 8.7/10

 

Helix Sunset Helix Moonlight Helix Dusk Helix Twilight Helix Dawn
Motion Transfer 7.75 8.15 9 8.25 9
Edge Support 7.5 7 9 9.5 8.5
Pressure Relief 7.5 7.75 9 8.5 8.25
Spinal Alignment 8.5 9 9 9 9
Responsiveness 8.25 8.5 8.25 9 8.25
Cooling Evaluation 8 8 8 8.5 8
Durability Evaluation 8.5 8.5 8.5 8.5 8.5
TOTAL SCORE 8.5/10 8.6/10 8.9/10 8.95/10 8.8/10

Read all about our review process.

Helix mattress unboxing

Which Helix Is Best for You?

So much goes into picking a mattress, but the most important factors include your budget, sleep preferences, sleeping position, and how well the materials inside the mattress meet these needs. Next, we’ll see how well the Helix mattresses do in each area.

Best Helix Mattress by Sleep Preference

Helix Sunset Helix Dusk Helix Twilight Helix Midnight Birch
Budget Shoppers
Hot Sleepers
Heavier Sleepers
Couples
Low-Back Pain

Helix Plus Helix Luxe Mattresses Helix Sunset Helix Moonlight
Budget Shoppers
Hot Sleepers
Heavier Sleepers
Couples
Low-Back Pain

Best Helix by Sleep Position

Does the Helix mattress you have your eye on meet your needs? Find out in the table below.

Helix Dawn  Helix Dusk Helix Twilight Helix Midnight Birch
Side Sleepers
Back Sleepers
Stomach Sleepers
Combination Sleepers

 

Helix Plus Helix Luxe Mattresses Helix Sunset Helix Moonlight
Side Sleepers
Back Sleepers
Stomach Sleepers
Combination Sleepers

Look Inside Each Helix Mattress

Here we dig into the construction and firmness of the Helix mattresses. Keep in mind that an innerspring coil layer makes the mattress responsive and bouncy and foam adds pressure relief.

Model Firmness What’s Inside Height Weight (Queen-size)
Helix Plus Firm: 7-8/10 4 foam layers

1 coil system

12” 106 lbs.
Helix Luxe Mattresses Medium firm: 6/10 1 pillow top

4 foam layers

1 coil system

14” 100-110 lbs.
Helix Sunset Soft: 2-3/10 3 foam layers

1 coil system

12” 80-90 lbs. 
Helix Moonlight Soft: 2-3/10 3 foam layers

1 coil system

12” 80-90 lbs.
Helix Dawn Firm: 8-9/10 3 foam layers

1 coil system

12” 80-90 lbs.
Helix Dusk Medium-Firm: 5-6/10 3 foam layers

1 coil system

12” 90-100 lbs.
Helix Twilight Firm: 8-9 3 foam layers

1 coil system

12” 80-90 lbs.
Helix Midnight Medium-Firm: 5-6/10 3 foam layers

1 coil system

12” 90-100 lbs.
Birch Medium-Firm: 7/10 2 wool layers

1 latex layer

1 coil system

11” 105 lbs.

Learn About the Helix Sleep Mattress Company

Helix offers 14 different mattress models. The idea behind having 14 different models is that there is a bed for everyone. The original 6 Helix mattresses are affordable comfort, the Luxe models are luxury comfort, and the specialty mattresses hit on everything in between.

These can be organized into three grouping: Helix Memory Plus Foam mattresses (Sunset, Midnight, Twilight), Helix Dynamic Foam mattresses (Moonlight, Dusk, Dawn), and Helix speciality mattresses (Plus and Birch).

Memory Plus foam is great for side sleepers. It provides balanced support which is just enough to keep your spine aligned without feeling too stiff. Too much support for side sleepers can cause discomfort.

Helix Dynamic Foam provides extra support, making these mattresses a particularly good choice for back and stomach sleepers. Although, side sleepers are welcome!

Helix Mattress Sizes

Size Dimensions
Twin 39” x 75”
Twin XL 39” x 80”
Full 54” x 75”
Queen 60” x 80”
King 76” x 80”
California King 72” x 84”

Helix Mattress Prices

Model Twin Twin XL Full Queen King Cal King Check Prices*
Helix Plus $825 $925 $1,099 $1,599 $1,999 $1,999 Check Helix Plus Prices
Helix Luxe Mattresses $995 $1,249 $1,499 $1,799 $2,199 $2,199 Check Luxe Prices
Helix Sunset $600 $700 $850 $999 $1,349 $1,349 Check Sunset Prices
Helix Moonlight $600 $700 $850 $999 $1,349 $1,349 Check Moonlight Prices
Helix Dawn $600 $700 $850 $999 $1,349 $1,349 Check Dawn Prices
Helix Dusk $600 $700 $850 $999 $1,349 $1,349 Check Dusk Prices
Helix Twilight $600 $700 $850 $999 $1,349 $1,349 Check Twilight Prices
Helix Midnight $600 $700 $850 $999 $1,349 $1,349 Check Midnight Prices
Birch $1,049 $1,099 $1,299 $1,499 $1,799 $1,799 Check Birch Prices

*The prices listed above are the mattress prices without any exclusive Helix coupons, deals, or promo codes. Check out our best deals page for discounts on your favorite brands.
Financing

Financing your Helix mattress is available through Klarna with rates as low as 0% APR. If you choose to finance your mattress, you are automatically excluded from using any discount codes or promotions on your order.

*Klarna loans are not currently available for residents of West Virginia and New Hampshire

Shipping and Delivery Policies and Process

Helix beds are compressed and shipped through FedEx at no cost to you if you live in the United States (yes, even in Alaska and Hawaii). Canadian orders will have a $250 shipping fee. Production and shipping combined takes about 3-15 business days

Helix does offer white glove delivery service and mattress removal for a fee of $149. This means a team of Helix reps will deliver and set up your mattress in the bedroom of your choice.

Whether you pick white glove delivery or unbox your bed up yourself, there will be an off-gassing smell. This just means your bed needs to air out for a few hours before you put on your bedding.

Trial Period and Warranty

Regardless of the Helix mattress you choose, the sleep trial will be 100 nights long. This means that you have up to 100 nights to sleep on Helix and see if you want to make a final commitment. If not, contact Helix Sleep to return your mattress for a full refund. It’s just that simple.

In terms of warranty, the length varies depending on the bed you choose. The regular Helix mattresses come with a 10-year warranty, the Luxe beds come with a 15-year warranty, and the Birch bed has a long 25-year warranty.


Compare Helix

Helix vs. Casper

Casper mattress

Helix vs. Leesa

Leesa mattress

Helix vs. Nectar

Nectar mattress

Helix vs. Purple

Inside the Purple mattress

Helix FAQs

How does the Helix Color-MATCH system work?

You can take Helix’s Sleep Quiz to be matched with a Helix mattress that meets your biological needs and comfort preferences.

This quiz was designed with help from some of the world’s leading researchers on sleep ergonomics (aka the study of the correct anatomical sleeping posture) and biomechanics (or the study of structure and function of the product), so you can trust that this mattress matching algorithm will pair you with the best mattress for you.

Do I need to be home to receive my Helix mattress?

Helix mattresses are delivered via UPS Ground, so you shouldn’t need to provide a signature. But UPS does reserve the right to obtain a signature if they believe they cannot safely deliver your package.

See In-Depth Reviews

By clicking on the product links in this article, Mattress Advisor may receive a commission fee at no cost to you, the reader. Read full disclosure statement.

Helix Mattress Review IRL

We checked in with a couple who purchased the Helix mattress after one night, one week, and one month sleeping on the bed to see how they felt about their purchase.

Meet Cameron & Haley

Cameron and Haley: Helix mattress owners

Cameron and Haley live in Raleigh, NC. Cameron works in marketing and Haley works in biological sciences. They share their Helix mattress with each other and their dog, Bruce.

Cameron and Haley are both side sleepers and both sleep hot. Before owning their Helix mattress, they had a Serta mattress. Read about each part of their journey with their Helix mattress below.

Choosing the Mattress

MA: Why were you guys in the market for a new mattress?

C&H: We had our old mattress, a Serta, for about 8 years. It was sinking in and wasn’t comfortable anymore so we decided it was time for a new one.

MA: What factors did you consider when buying a mattress?

C&H: We knew we wanted to purchase online because we liked the idea of trying a mattress in our own home and returning it for our money back if we didn’t like it. When we bought our first mattress back in college, it was more like a car buying experience. We went to a store and had a creepy guy following us around while we tried out different mattresses. Buying a mattress is personal so we wanted the experience to be personal too.

MA: Did you compare any other brands? If so, what were they?

C&H: We did a lot of online research to see what options we had and also polled our friends on social media. We considered the Purple, Casper, Cocoon and Helix. We didn’t like the Purple because we felt like it was going to be the most different from our old mattress (a Serta) with its gel technology and were fearful that it could take a while to get used to. Casper was in West Elm stores at the time so we actually had a chance to try it out while we were at the mall. It was more of a pure memory foam and we were looking for a hybrid option so we decided not to go with that. It was also on the pricier side for a “one size fits all” mattress. We decided against the Cocoon because of the price point as well.

MA: What ultimately led you to purchase the Helix mattress?

C&H: We loved that fact that we could customize the Helix and really make it our own. They were essentially going to build a mattress to fit us. We wanted something that was a hybrid and more on the medium to medium-firm side. We decided on a hybrid because we both sleep hot and felt the coil technology would help keep it cooler than just memory foam alone. We felt like we could get all of that with the Helix. It was also an added bonus when we learned that Helix would send us a complimentary soft or firm topper if we weren’t happy with the level of firmness.

MA: Did you buy anything else from Helix?

C&H: Just the mattress.

MA: What was your mattress buying experience like?

C&H: Our first real interaction with Helix was taking their online quiz to determine what type of mattress would be best for us. It was super simple, took no time at all, and we were able to tailor the bed to each of our sleeping preferences, which we really liked.  We felt like we were both getting what we needed without having to compromise.

After we took the initial quiz, we were actually still researching other brands but Helix did a good job of following up via email. After two emails, they sent us a coupon and we decided to make the purchase.

Helix does take a little longer than some other mattress brands because they’re basically building a mattress for you. It takes around 6-10 days but we knew this up front and were fine with it. We did have one issue where we noticed our shipping zip code was incorrect. We emailed customer service and they had everything fixed within an hour. They followed up after the fact to make sure we were all set and then even followed up after we got our mattress, so we were pretty impressed with that level of customer service.

After Night One on the Helix

Mattress was delivered on 8/23/2017; First interview was conducted on 8/24/2017

MA: Overall, how would you describe your first night on the Helix mattress?

C&H: The first night definitely felt like we were sleeping on something brand new. We never had a foam mattress top before so it did take some getting used to. I did notice that I didn’t feel as much movement from Haley or the dog.

MA: Did you notice any difference in how you felt when you woke up?

C: I was less sore in my shoulders and neck. I also noticed that I slept a bit cooler. On my old mattress, I’d find myself waking up with the sheet off, or my leg hanging off to get cooler but I  didn’t find that I was doing this on the Helix.

MA: How does the Helix compare to other mattresses you’ve had in the past?

C&H: We definitely sleep cooler, have less aches and pains, and feel more refreshed. I (Cameron) will say that I’m an edge sleeper so I had to get used to not having a true edge on the new bed. There isn’t any piping or indentation that signals you’re off the bed.

MA: How would you rank the Helix mattress on the following factors?

On a scale from 1-5 with 1 being the worst and 5 being the best.

Motion transfer (feeling little to no movement from your sleeping partner): 4
Support (body weight distributed evenly, no pains or aches): 5
Responsiveness (adjusts/responds to your body movements): 5
Temperature control (keeps you cool): 4

MA: How firm would you say the Helix is?

C&H: We ended up with a medium to medium-firm mattress. We’re very happy with the firmness. We wanted a mattress that was slightly firmer and this is exactly what we were expecting.

MA: Do you have any complaints about your Helix? Or anything you would change if you could?

C&H: No, not really. The one thing I’ll say is that you should just expect that when you’re buying a mattress in a box, you’ll need to invest the time to lug up the 85lb. box and set up it. It’s not like you’re going to get white glove service. It’s not hard but you just need to anticipate that, especially if you live in a walk-up where it might be more difficult.

MA: Do you feel like the Helix mattress was worth the price you paid?

C&H: Yes. The Helix is cheaper than a lot of alternatives and we trusted the quality based on the research we did. We even compared our test results with a friend who also took the test and they were truly different, so we knew we were getting something that was actually customized for us.

MA: Do you think you’ll keep your Helix?

C&H: Yes.

After One Week on the Helix

Mattress was delivered on 8/23/2017; Second interview was conducted on 8/31/2017

MA: Overall, how would you describe your first week on the Helix mattress?

C&H: After the 2nd or 3rd night, our experience was much more positive. We were getting used to the foam on top and felt more rested. The discomfort we had with our old mattress started to go away. After about three nights, I (Cameron) didn’t even notice the edge support difference anymore.

We both can tell that we’re sleeping longer and we’re not noticing back or shoulder pain that we had with our previous mattress. We have noticed that it doesn’t sleep as cool as our previous mattress, however it hasn’t been a deal breaker. We ended up just changing our duvet cover to be thinner and it’s been fine since we did that.

MA: How are you feeling when you wake up?

C&H: We definitely feel like we’re sleeping through the night and not waking each other up. Overall, we wake up feeling well rested.

MA: How would you rank the Helix mattress on the following factors?

On a scale from 1-5 with 1 being the worst and 5 being the best.

Motion transfer: 4
Support: 5
Responsiveness: 5
Temperature control: 4

MA: Are you still happy with the level of firmness?

C&H: Yes.

MA: Do you have any new complaints about the Helix? Or anything you would change if you could?

C&H: Nope.

MA: Do you still feel like the Helix mattress was worth the price you paid?

C&H: Yes.

MA: Do you think you’ll keep your Helix?

C&H: Yes, we do.

After One Month on the Helix

Mattress was delivered on 8/23/2017; Third interview was conducted on 9/21/2017

MA: Overall, how would you describe your first month on the Helix mattress?

C&H: We would still say that it was an excellent buy. It’s super comfortable, we feel more rested, and whatever issues we had with pain or soreness has gone away. We definitely feel like it’s living up to our expectations.

MA: How are you feeling when you wake up?

C&H: We definitely wake up feeling more rested. I (Cameron) also feel like I’m waking up in the same position I fell asleep in, which is on my side.

MA: How would you rank the Helix mattress on the following factors?

On a scale from 1-5 with 1 being the worst and 5 being the best.

Motion transfer: 5
Support: 5
Responsiveness: 5
Temperature control: 4

MA: Are you still happy with the level of firmness?

C&H: Yes.

MA: Do you have any new complaints about the Helix? Or anything you would change if you could?

C&H: No complaints, but the only thing I’ll reiterate is that if you’re an edge sleeper like me, you’ll have to get used to the fact that there’s nothing that tells you you’re at the edge of the bed. This definitely wasn’t a deal breaker and I’ll say that I don’t even notice it anymore, but that was the biggest adjustment.

MA: Do you still feel like the Helix mattress was worth the price you paid?

C&H: Yes.

MA: Do you think you’ll keep your Helix?

C&H: Yes.

Verified Customer Reviews

Male | RALEIGH-DURHAM (FAYETVLLE), NC

Verified Reviewer
Sleeper Profile
  • Sleeps with partner
  • Side sleeper
  • Restless sleeper
  • Suffers from back pain
Owned mattress for: 7-12 mo.
Recommends to a friend?: Yes
Overall Satisfaction: 9/10
Show Details

On a scale from 1-10 (with 10 being the best), how would you rate your mattress on the following factors?

Mattress-Buying Experience
10
Ease of Set-up
10
Body Support
10
Motion Isolation
10
Responsiveness
9
Cooling Properties
8
Comfort
9
Quality
9
Value
10
Edge Support
9

Female | DALLAS-FT. WORTH, TX

Verified Reviewer
Sleeper Profile
  • Sleeps with partner
  • Combo sleeper
  • Restless sleeper
  • Snores a lot
Owned mattress for: 7-12 mo.
Recommends to a friend?: Yes
Overall Satisfaction: 10/10
Show Details

On a scale from 1-10 (with 10 being the best), how would you rate your mattress on the following factors?

Mattress-Buying Experience
10
Ease of Set-up
10
Body Support
10
Motion Isolation
4
Responsiveness
8
Cooling Properties
8
Comfort
9
Quality
10
Value
10
Edge Support
8

Comments (0)