Muse Mattress Review

15129017 1045649215540251 8957011252941918549 o

By clicking on the product links in this article, Mattress Advisor may receive a commission fee at no cost to you, the reader. Read full disclosure statement.

Muse Mattress Review

✔️Last updated: May 2021

✔️Customer Rating: 4.7/5
✔️Mattress Advisor Score: 8.6/10
✔️Type: Memory Foam
✔️Firmness: Soft, Medium, and Firm
✔️Free Shipping & Returns
✔️120-Night Sleep Trial
✔️10-Year Limited Warranty

In a nutshell: The Muse memory foam mattress has an all-foam construction that is conforming without the confining feel of traditional memory foam. The mattress feels softer or firmer depending on the comfort level you choose. The cooling technology absorbs body heat, so you’ll wake from a good night’s sleep clean and dry.

Sleeper Compatibility

Muse is best for: Muse may not be best for:
  • Back sleepers
  • Those with back pain
  • Stomach sleepers
  • Hot sleepers
  • Couples
  • Combination sleepers
  • Side sleepers
  • Those who prefer the feel of a traditional innerspring mattress

Testing Highlights

top rated cooling mattress badge

The Muse mattress may not inspire you to create beautiful art, but it will give you a good night’s sleep. In this Muse mattress review, we’ll walk you through all that we discovered when we brought the Muse mattress into our sleep lab, including: pros and cons, performance scores, delivery specs, and our recommendations. 

Where it excels:

  • Muse mattresses are made in the USA with only high quality materials.
  • You can choose from three firmness options—soft, medium, or firm. Take a gander through the comfort quiz on the Muse website to see which is the best match for you.
  • The Muse mattress cover is removable and machine washable, so say goodbye to dust mites. 

Mattress Advisor Score for the Muse Mattress

When we review a mattress, we take it through a gauntlet of tests and evaluations. Our aim is to give you the most accurate, reliable intel on how the mattress feels and performs. We assign the mattress 14 category scores and one total score, which is a weighted average of all the categories. Here’s how the Muse fared in our mattress examination.

Mattress Advisor Test Score (Out of 10)
Shipping 9
Trial Period 10
Return Policy 10
Warranty 9
Set-Up 9
Motion Transfer 8.4
Edge Support 7
Pressure Relief 7.75
Spine Alignment 9
Responsiveness 8
Cooling 9
Durability 8.5
Customer Service 9
Social Impact 4
⭐Total Score for the Muse Mattress: 8.6/10⭐

Muse Pros and Cons

✅ Pros

  • Cooling: The Muse earned an impressive near-perfect score for cooling, which is quite the feat for an all-foam mattress. We chalk this up to the phase change yarn in the mattress cover and the cooling gel memory foam.
  • Spinal Alignment: Have you ever been told you need better posture? That’s also true while you sleep, and the Muse helps you out by keeping your spine aligned.
  • Responsiveness: We appreciated how quickly the Muse adapted to our changes in position.
  • Motion Transfer: The Muse keeps you from getting woken up by your partner’s early AM bathroom break.

❌ Cons

  • We felt a little bit unsteady on the edges of the mattress, thus the moderate score for edge support.
  • The Muse has a little off-gassing when it’s fresh out of the box, which is typical for a new foam bed.

Motion Transfer

The Muse kept motion transfer pretty minimal, which is good for couples who don’t want to be disturbed by their sleeping partner during the night. Our testers gave it a score of 8.25/10 during the blindfold test, where one person moves around on the mattress while the other is blindfolded. 

During our wine test (just picture a glass of wine on a mattress), the wine wobbled only a tiny bit, so we gave the Muse an 8.5/10. In total, the Muse earned a motion transfer score of 8.4/10.

Edge Support

For our first edge support test, we ask our testers to sit on the edge of the bed and put on their shoes. Our testers noted that the edge felt a little slippery to sit on, but figured that the slick feel might go away with the use of sheets. 

Our testers also found it a little difficult to lay on the edge of the bed, so for a total edge support score, the Muse earned 7/10.

Pressure Relief

We test how well a mattress relieves stress on pressure points using a heat map on the mattress surface. Cool tones are a good sign—they indicate low pressure—whereas warm tones show high pressure zones. 

We saw mainly blues and greens when our first tester laid down on the mattress, but there was a little bit of red near our second tester’s shoulders, so we gave the Muse a total pressure relief score of 7.75/10.

Muse Firmness

The Muse mattress is available in soft, medium, or firm options. The soft mattress is about a 5/10 on the firmness scale, and the medium mattress is a 6.5/10, which is closer to a medium firm feel than a true medium firmness. The firm mattress is 8/10, so it feels a lot more like a traditional innerspring mattress.

Sleeping Position Support

The Muse provides the support that back sleepers and stomach sleepers need, although side sleepers may want to add a topper for extra pressure relief. The Muse scored well for responsiveness, so it’s a great choice for combo sleepers, particularly those who favor their stomach or back.

Temperature Factors

Not at all! In fact, we gave the Muse a near perfect cooling score of 9/10. The combination of cooling fabric, gel infused foams, and open cell layers of memory foam all drastically improve the mattress’s temperature regulation.

Weight Support

The Muse mattress doesn’t have a max weight limit. We think the soft and medium options will feel the most comfortable for those with average body types. If you have a bigger figure, then the high density foam in the firm Muse mattress will give you the best support.

Bed Frames and Foundations

You can place the Muse mattress on any firm foundation, including a box spring, slatted foundation, platform base, adjustable frame, or even the floor.

What is the Muse Mattress Made of?

We got to see the inside of the Muse mattress, which is constructed with four layers of foam and a cozy cover.

inside muse mattress
  1. Mattress Cover: A removable cover made from a velvety chenille fabric with cooling, adaptive phase change material
  2. Top Layer: 2” of plush open cell foam that enables airflow through the mattress
  3. Comfort Layer: 2” of contouring gel memory foam that reduces heat retention
  4. Support Layer: 2” of transitional foam that minimizes motion transfer
  5. Base Layer: 6” of foundational polyfoam that improves the durability of the mattress

Muse Mattress Sizes, Dimensions, and Pricing

Size Dimensions Weight Price*
Twin 39” x 75” x 12” 55lbs $795
Twin XL 39” x 80” x 12” 60lbs $845
Full 54” x 75” x 12” 76lbs $995
Queen 60” x 80” x 12” 91lbs $1,195
King 76” x 80” x 12” 115lbs $1,395
California King 72” x 84” x 12” 115lbs $1,395

*Prices do not reflect exclusive offers or discounts. Click below to see the best price for the Muse mattress.

Unboxing the Muse

The Muse mattress arrived compressed and rolled in a box. It took us just a minute and a half to set-up. It was a little heavy on the packaging, but the mattress had minimal smell and quickly expanded to its full shape.

Company Profile

Keep reading for all the info you’ll need to know before buying your Muse mattress.

Policy Details
Delivery Bed-in-a-box via FedEx
Trial Period 120 nights
Warranty 10-year warranty
Return Policy Free returns
Financing Klarna

Shipping Time Frame

The Muse mattress is shipped for free via FedEx. It’s delivered 6-8 business days after you placed your order. They don’t offer white glove delivery or old mattress removal.

Your 120-Night Trial

You get 120 nights, or roughly four months, to test out your new mattress. This sleep trial period is a little longer than the standard 100 night sleep trial. We recommend taking at least 30 days to let your body adjust to the new sleeping surface before making a final decision. 

Warranty Breakdown

Your Muse mattress is protected by a 10-year warranty that starts on your date of purchase. Covered defects include indentations deeper than 0.75”, cracks in the foam, and unraveled stitches. Make sure you hold onto your original receipt and email your claim request to hello@musesleep.com within five days of noticing the defect.

Muse Customer Care

The Muse customer service team is available over email at hello@musesleep.com or phone at 855-699-6873, Monday-Friday 8:30AM–5:30PM EST. If they miss your call, leave a quick message with your name, phone number, and the best time to call you back.

Returning Your Muse

You can return your mattress for a full refund during the trial period, as long as you’ve slept on it for a minimum of 20 nights. Once your return is confirmed, Muse will pick up your mattress and donate it.

Is The Muse Your Dream Mattress?

The Muse is a good choice for the average sleeper who is looking for their first memory foam mattress. It performed well during our evaluations, and we would recommend the Muse particularly to combo sleepers who want to stay cool. 

Side sleepers and couples who are concerned about motion transfer can find more comfortable mattresses. The Leesa Hybrid is great for motion isolation, and Casper is better for pressure relief.

Related: Our Lessa Hybrid mattress review, our Casper mattress review

Muse vs. Other Mattresses

The Muse is generally more affordable and sleeps cooler than it’s competition. We put the Muse’s performance scores next to a few other memory foam mattresses, and here’s what we learned:

  • The Casper mattress costs a little less and provides better pressure relief and responsiveness than the Muse, but the Muse sleeps cooler and does a better job of isolating motion. 
  • The Helix Moonlight mattress shares a similar amount of pressure relief, responsiveness, and motion transfer, while the Muse sleeps a bit cooler and costs a little more. Take a look at our full Helix Moonlight mattress review.
  • The Amerisleep AS3 has similar motion transfer and pressure relief scores as the Muse, but Muse is a bit more responsive, cooling, and lower cost. If you’re interested, read our full Amerisleep AS3 mattress review.
  • The Alexander Signature Series by Nest Bedding also offers firmness options, including medium and luxury firm. The Signature is more pressure relieving and responsive, while the Muse is more cooling and affordable. If pressure relief is what you’re after, head over to our Alexander Signature Series mattress review.

Muse Also Sells

  • The Muse Pillow: Featuring a cooling cover, shredded memory foam, and molded memory foam core; available in low, medium, and high loft levels; $120
  • The Muse Protector: Breathable, moisture-wicking, and machine washable; starting at $100/twin size
  • The Muse Travel Pillow: Molded memory foam with a cooling cover, $30

FAQs

It sure does. Muse uses a rayon cellulose blended fiber beneath the mattress cover as their fire barrier.

To clean your Muse mattress, remove the cover and wash in cold water on a gentle cycle. Either let it air dry or tumble dry it on the lowest heat setting. We also recommend using a waterproof mattress protector.

Yep! Muse mattresses are CertiPUR-US certified to contain no toxic chemicals or heavy metals, and it passed tests to make sure it has low emissions.


By clicking on the product links in this article, Mattress Advisor may receive a commission fee at no cost to you, the reader. Read full disclosure statement.