Purple mattress

By clicking on the product links in this article, Mattress Advisor may receive a commission fee at no cost to you, the reader. Read full disclosure statement.

Purple Mattress Review

✔️Customer Rating: 4.6/5
✔️Mattress Advisor Score: 8.4/10
✔️Type: Hybrid
✔️Firmness: Medium-firm
✔️Free Returns
✔️100-Night Sleep Trial
✔️10-Year Warranty

Memorial Day Sale: Up to $400 Off Mattress + Sleep Bundle!

The bottom line: The original Purple Mattress has much to brag about: its durable, supportive, and pressure-relieving. This hybrid, medium-firm bed uses layers of foam to support your pressure points and provide edge support and cooling. Ideal for back and side sleepers, the Purple mattress will last you for years to come. 

Who Is the Purple Mattress Best for?

Purple is best for: Purple may not be best for:
  • Hot sleepers
  • Athletes, dancers, those who are active
  • Back and side sleepers
  • People with back pain
  • Those who prefer a traditional memory foam mattress or traditional innerspring mattress
  • Stomach sleepers

Purple Mattress Review Highlights

Top-Rated Hybrid Mattress

The Purple mattress is an original bed-in-a-box model from the unique brand Purple. It is one of our top-rated best hybrid mattresses and one of the best mattresses for athletes. In this review, we’ll answer your questions about the Purple, and provide you with pros and cons, customer reviews, and product specs like size and prices.

What we love about the Purple:

  • The Purple Mattress gives you a unique feel of relieving pain and pressure around areas of soreness and also providing cushioning and support. This is a pro of having a hybrid bed—you get the best of both worlds.
  • Customer service for Purple scored a 9 out of 10, meaning that they are ready and willing to answer any questions and concerns you may have about purchasing or owning a Purple mattress. It makes the buying process less stressful when you know you’re purchasing from a reputable company with helpful employees.
  • Because the Purple bed is a hybrid mattress, it does a great job of keeping you cool, better than all-foam beds, and increasing breathability and airflow.

Video Review of the Purple Mattress

Check out our video below to see how the Purple mattress performed in our testing in the Mattress Lab.


Mattress Advisor Score for the Purple Mattress

Take a look at our score breakdown for the Purple mattress to understand which areas this mattress excels in. Our final score is a combined weighted total of each score. We rate each test and the total score on a scale of 1 to 10.

You can learn more about our scoring system and review process here.

Mattress Advisor Test Score (Out of 10)
Shipping 7
Trial Period 9
Return Policy 10
Warranty 9
Set-Up 6
Motion Transfer 7.5
Edge Support 8.5
Pressure Relief 8.5
Spine Alignment 9.5
Responsiveness 7
Cooling 8
Durability 9
Customer Service 9
Social Impact 4
⭐Total Score for the Purple Mattress: 8.4/10⭐

Purple Performance Highlights

✅ Pros

  • Spine alignment: The Purple bed helps your spine maintain its natural curve even when you lie on your side by using a unique pressure-releasing material. 
  • Durability: Two layers of high-density foam give the mattress its durability and longevity. The Purple bed also does not have a weight limit and is able to support many different body types over a long period of time.
  • Pressure Relief: A layer of hyper-elastic polymer is what gives this mattress its outstanding ability to relieve pressure for your hips and shoulders. This layer cushions your hips and shoulders and helps relieve pain. 
  • Edge Support: The Purple bed’s medium-firm design offers great edge support that helps to reinforce the bed and reduce movement from other people.
  • The Purple mattress is made to order here in the USA.

❌ Cons

  • Purple does not do much in the social world besides building beds for underprivileged individuals.
  • Shipping and delivery are not free and your bed can take up to 1-2 weeks to be shipped.
  • Purple mattress complaints

Product Information

Learn some of the practical stuff you need to know before you buy, such as how much weight the Purple bed can support and how firm the mattress is. 

How Firm is the Purple Mattress?

The Purple Mattress is medium-firm and scores about a 6.5 out of a 10 on the firmness scale. This firmness level means areas like the lower back and lumbar region are more firmly supported than you would find with other, less firm beds.

Purple Firmness

What Sleeping Position Does the Purple Mattress Support?

The Purple works best for back sleepers and side sleepers. The original mattress helps with spinal alignment while sleeping on your side and cushions your pressure points while still filling in the other curves of your body, so you can maintain support from head to toe. Back sleepers would also enjoy the spinal alignment the Purple bed offers as this helps to eliminate any unwanted pressure. 

Stomach sleepers may prefer a softer mattress than the Purple as you may experience some discomfort or lower back pain with this medium-firm bed whilst resting on your stomach.

Sealy hybrid premium sleep position

Does the Purple Mattress Sleep Hot?

The Purple bed scores an 8 out of 10 for cooling, meaning that the mattress does a great job of regulating your body temperature and keeping you cool throughout the night. This is due to the structure of the foam layers which have a large, open cell structure designed for promoting airflow and breathability. 

The responsive knit cover on the top layer of the mattress is also a breathable design that pushes air away from your body, so you won’t have to worry about night sweats with this bed.

Purple cooling

How Much Weight Does the Purple Mattress Support?

The Purple Mattress does not have a weight limit and is capable of supporting many different body types and body weight.

What Foundations of Bed Frames Can be Used with Purple?

The Purple Mattress requires a strong and sturdy base to support itself. Platforms, box foundations, or adjustable bed frames all work as foundations for your Purple bed. Try to avoid springs in your foundation to prevent a sagging mattress.

Bear Compatible Foundations

What is the Purple Mattress Made of?

The Purple mattress is composed of a layer of hyper-elastic polymer grid on top of two layers of high-density foam designed for durability, support and motion isolation. The layers of foam work with the polymer to create a durable support system.

Inside the Purple mattress
  • Responsive Knit Cover: A soft and stretchy cover that composes the top layer. Designed for breathability and increased air flow.
  • Smart Comfort Grid: Comfort layer designed to provide cushioning for your hips and shoulders (pressure points) and support your body’s natural shape by contouring.
  • Plush Comfort Foam: Soft, high-density foam that offers responsiveness and cushioning. The polymer material gives the bed its responsiveness which benefits combo sleepers who toss and turn throughout the night.
  • Support Foam: Medium-firm, high-density polyfoam that supports the mattress and gives it its structure. This makes up the base layers of the bed.

Purple Mattress Sizes, Dimensions, and Pricing

Size Dimensions Weight Price*
Twin 38” x 75” 65 lbs $649
Twin XL 38” x 80” 70 lbs $749
Full 54” x 76” 81 lbs $949
Queen 60” x 80” 100 lbs $1099
King 76” x 80” 140 lbs $1399
California King 72” x 84” 140 lbs $1399

*Prices do not reflect exclusive offers or discounts. Click below to see the best price for the Purple mattress.


Purchasing Information

Read below for everything you need to know purchase-wise for your Purple mattress.

Policy Details
Delivery Compressed in a cylinder case; delivered in 4-7 business days
Trial Period 100 nights
Warranty 10-year limited warranty
Return Policy Free returns
Financing Available through Affirm

 

Purple Mattress Shipping and Delivery

The Purple Mattress takes 1-2 weeks to ship and once shipped, 4-7 business days to be delivered. You don’t need to be home to sign the mattress when FedEx delivers the bed to your doorstep.

Purple Mattress Sleep Trial

Your Purple Mattress comes with a 100-night sleep trial that starts from the date of your delivery. This is an average length for a sleep trial as most mattress brands usually offer a sleep trial anywhere from 100 nights to a full year. 

Purple Mattress Warranty

The warranty for your Purple Mattress is good for 10 years and starts at the original purchase date of the mattress. The warranty only applies as long as you use a firm, flat, non-spring foundation and there is no damage or neglect to the bed. To submit a claim, you can call Purple toll-free at 1-888-848-8456. 

Purple Mattress Customer Service

To contact Purple’s Customer Care, you can call support at 888-848-8456, or sales at 888-848-0511. Purple also offers a chat feature on their site where you can speak with a company representative and ask questions. You can also send Purple an email at info@purple.com. Purple earned a near perfect score for their customer service so safe to say you can count on Purple to assist you with your needs.

Here is what actual customers had to say about Purple’s customer service:

  • “Fantastic bed. Going to get a king next. Company even better.”- James M.
  • “My experience with purple overall has been a good one! Great product. Good customer service (timely, helpful, and courteous correspondence). And in general my interaction has been positive, not to mention your marketing/media helps set the tone of your cultures that you are fun and down to earth and don’t take yourselves too seriously…”- Carlos A.

Purple Mattress Return Policy

You have 100 days from the date of your Purple mattress delivery to return your bed. They require a minimum trial of 21 days to try the mattress out before you initiate a return. You can call Customer Care at 888-848-2305 to initiate a return and once your eligibility for return is confirmed, a Purple specialist will help facilitate the process. You will be refunded for the full price of the mattress minus any shipping charges.


Purple Customer Reviews

See what actual customers think of their Purple mattress to help you decide if it’s a good choice for you.

On Back Pain: “It’s the best mattress I’ve ever used. I thought it was pricey at first, but it is worth every coin and every dollar! I broke my back around 2 years ago and still have some pretty bad pain where I broke it, but Purple has actually decreased the pain which is amazing! My mother has the mattress and actually was the one who recommended it to me after I got out of the hospital.” – Rachel C.

On Lower Back Pain: “It took me a few days to get adjusted from my old bed to my new Purple Bed. After that I noticed a hugh difference with the pain in my lower back. I no long have pain in my lower back due to the new purple bed. It is very comfortable and I get great sleep.” – Shirley T.

On Cooling Properties: “So far, we love our purple original mattress. We don’t sink to the bottom or sweat all night from retained heat. No issues with chemical smells either.” – Kimberley G.

On Comfort: “I waited 3 months to review the mattress and I could not be happier. The mattress sleeps very cool and comfortable. After the first 30 days of sleeping on the mattress, I went on vacation and spent the next 2 weeks sleeping on a series of different mattress. What a difference when I returned back to my Purple mattress! This experience solidified everything for me… Without a doubt, a wonderful investment!” – Gianpaolo F.

On Firmness: “This is the first mattress I’ve ever used where the softness wasn’t a drawback. It really has a perfect balance between firmness, softness and support. I actually sleep on my back more often now because it’s so comfortable.” – Joshua I.

Sheets by a Window

Compare Purple to Other Mattresses

Interested to see how Purple compares to other mattresses?
Click here to check out our comparison tool.

Compare Purple

Other Products Sold by Purple

Purple PowerBase

Purple power base

Purple Bed Frame

Purple Foundation

Purple mattress

Purple Mattress FAQs

Purple mattress mascot

Can I finance my Purple mattress?

If you prefer to pay for your Purple in monthly installments, you can do so with Affirm. Finance your Purple mattress through affirm and get rates as low as 0% APR for 6 months. Just select “Affirm Monthly Payments” at checkout if you’re interested.

What kind of sheets can I use on my Purple mattress?

Sheets that are thin and stretchy with at least 5% spandex will work best with your Purple mattress. This will help ensure that you’re reaping all the benefits from the Smart Comfort Grid™.

Purple also sells its own stretchy sheets that complement the mattress well.

Does the Purple mattress have a break-in period?

Purple will likely feel different from any other mattress you’ve slept on, so it’s recommended that you allow 30 nights for your body to properly adjust to this new sleeping surface.

If you want to feel the patented hyper-elastic polymer for yourself before ordering the mattress, you can order a free “squishy” after you share and like a few things on social media (we have one and think it could be the new fidget spinner…).

Will I need to flip my Purple mattress?

You don’t and you shouldn’t! Purple is designed to work best right side up.

Is the Purple mattress eco-friendly?

The Purple mattress is both allergen-resistant and non-toxic. The hyper-elastic polymer is recyclable and made from food- and food-contact-grade ingredients. The high-density foam is CertiPUR-US­® Certified, meaning it meets some of the most rigorous standards for emissions, content, performance, and durability.

Does Purple offer any service member discounts?

Purple offers a 15% discount to first responders as well as service men and women. (Applies to veterans and active duty members.) There is not a coupon code for this offer, but you can simply give them a call at 844-642-5613 to have your discount applied.

By clicking on the product links in this article, Mattress Advisor may receive a commission fee at no cost to you, the reader. Read full disclosure statement.

Purple Mattress Review IRL

Emily & Dominic: Purple Mattress Owners

Meet Emily & Dominic

Emily and Dominic live in Raleigh, NC. Emily is an editorial manager for House Method, and Dominic is a data analyst. They share their Purple mattress with each other, and while they wish their dog, Tallulah, would snuggle in with them, she prefers her own bed.

Emily and Dominic are both primarily side sleepers, and sometimes back sleepers. Emily sleeps hot, while Dominic sleeps cold. Before owning their Purple mattress, they had a Casper.

Selection and Buying Process

For the purpose of this interview, we spoke with Emily.

MA: Why were you guys in the market for a new mattress?

E: We were looking for a new mattress because the Casper was simply too firm for me. I would wake up with sore shoulders and elbows after tossing and turning most of the night.

MA: What factors did you consider when buying a mattress?

E: Dom and I like opposite things when it comes to mattresses. He likes firm and I like soft. I tend to sleep hot and he’s always cold at night. So we needed something that was going to be comfortable for both of us. We used to have a Casper and I thought it was way too firm – I felt like I was sleeping on a bag of bricks. In the past, I’ve always had mattresses that felt like a cloud, but I needed something with more give on top and good pressure point support. I didn’t want to go too soft because I needed some support for my back.

We knew that we didn’t want a budget mattress, but also didn’t want to spend more than $1,500. I did want something that was made in the USA and fast shipping was another factor for us – I needed a mattress that would be delivered within a week.

MA: Did you compare any other brands? If so, what were they?

E: Well, we already tried Casper and I didn’t like it. We actually ordered a Nectar at first because I thought it was going to be the better choice for my back pain but shipping was delayed so we had to cancel.

MA: What ultimately led you to purchase the Purple mattress?

E: We thought the price was great ($1,000) and shipping was going to be quick. A  friend also had the Purple and let us feel it out. That gel top was wicked good!

MA: Did you buy anything else from Purple?

E: We didn’t but when we bought our mattress, there was a promotion going on for a free seat cushion so we got that as well.

MA: What was your mattress buying experience like?

E: Overall, it was really simple. Purple had one option for a mattress so the digital process was super easy. The price was clear and I knew when it was going to ship. I loved that they gave me the option to track the shipment through Facebook so I didn’t have to dig through emails. By the way, I totally would have paid extra for faster shipping if that was an option.

After One Night on the Purple Mattress

Mattress was delivered on 1/10/2018; First interview was conducted on 1/11/2018

MA: Overall, how would you describe your first night on the Purple mattress?

E: I loved it. I really did love the gel top – you can tell that there’s something else there. I think it’s the perfect combination for both of us. It has give but you also don’t feel like you’re sinking. I loved the squishiness of it – it feels wild on your feet!

MA: Did you notice any difference in how you felt when you woke up?

E: I remember waking up on the Casper feeling like I hadn’t slept all night because there was no support. On the Purple, I felt a good amount of support, particularly on my hip. I felt like I had a good night’s rest when I woke up, particularly because I wasn’t tossing and turning to try and get comfortable.

MA: How does this compare to other mattresses you’ve had in the past?

E: As I mentioned earlier, the Casper was way too firm so I definitely like the firmness of the Purple better. Before the Casper, I had a mattress that felt like a cloud but it wore out so fast.

MA: How would you rank the Purple mattress on the following factors?

On a scale from 1-5 with 1 being the worst and 5 being the best.

Motion transfer (feeling little to no movement from your sleeping partner): 4.5
Support (body weight distributed evenly, no pains or aches): 5
Responsiveness (adjusts/responds to your body movements): 4.5
Temperature control (keeps you cool): 2

MA: How firm would you say the Purple is?

E: It’s a really different mattress than anything I’ve ever had. I would say it has good firm support but a softer gel top.

MA: Do you have any complaints about the Purple? Or anything you would change if you could?

E: My only complaint would be the temperature, but we are sleeping with a pretty warm duvet cover so we’re going to switch it tonight to see if it makes a difference.

MA: Do you feel like the Purple mattress was worth the price you paid?

E: Yes.

MA: Do you think you’ll keep your Purple mattress?

E: I think so, assuming the temperature issue is resolved.

After One Week on the Purple Mattress

Mattress was delivered on 1/10/2018; Second interview was conducted on 1/18/2018

MA: Overall, how would you describe your first week on the Purple mattress?

E: It did not hold up in terms of comfort. The novelty of the gel wore off kind of quickly. I still slept fine, but wasn’t as magical as the first night.

MA: How are you feeling when you wake up?

E: My hip feels much better supported. I noticed that my hip flexors are not as tight in the morning.

MA: How would you rank the Purple mattress on the following factors after sleeping on it for a week?

On a scale from 1-5 with 1 being the worst and 5 being the best.

Motion transfer (feeling little to no movement from your sleeping partner): 5
Support (body weight distributed evenly, no pains or aches): 5
Responsiveness (adjusts/responds to your body movements): 3.5
Temperature control (keeps you cool): 4

MA: Are you still happy with the firmness of your Purple?

E: Yes.

MA: Do you have any new complaints about the Purple? Or anything you would change if you could?

E: No new complaints, except for the fact that it’s losing its novelty a bit. We did find that the temperature issue from the first night was because of the nuclear blanket we were sleeping under, so that’s been resolved for the most part.

MA: Do you still feel like the Purple mattress was worth the price you paid?

E:  I think so. The smell is gone. I was concerned about that when we first got it – I thought I might have paid $1,000 for a smelly mattress, but that’s not the case anymore.

MA: Do you think you’ll keep your Purple mattress?

E: Yeah, I think so.

After One Month on the Purple Mattress

Mattress was delivered on 1/10/2018; Second interview was conducted on 2/12/2018

MA: Overall, how would you describe your first month on the Purple mattress?

E: The firmness was leaving me tossing and turning. The gel top novelty wore off and was really just too firm for me. It did not bother Dominic though – he thought it was great. We decided to add a mattress topper from The Company Store, which makes it feel very cloud-like. Naturally, I just sleep with a lot of pillows, so I like a cushy bed experience. I will say that the motion transfer has been particularly great on the Purple.

MA: How are you feeling when you wake up?

E: I sleep on my left side a lot and my left shoulder does feel a little cramped when I wake up. But since we’ve added the softer topper, I am definitely getting more consistent sleep – I’m sleeping through the night more often.

MA: How would you rank the Purple mattress on the following factors after sleeping on it for a month?

On a scale from 1-5 with 1 being the worst and 5 being the best.

Motion transfer (feeling little to no movement from your sleeping partner): 5
Support (body weight distributed evenly, no pains or aches): 5
Responsiveness (adjusts/responds to your body movements): 3.5
Temperature control (keeps you cool): 4

MA: Are you still happy with the firmness of your Purple?

E: I think I realized that I just needed a plush, cloud-like top. I don’t think any mattress would have necessarily satisfied this – I think I just needed my soft topper.

MA: Do you have any new complaints about the Purple? Or anything you would change if you could?

E: Nothing in addition to the firmness issue.

MA: Do you still feel like the Purple mattress was worth the price you paid?

E:  Yes. I don’t think it’s going to deteriorate. I think the durability is going to be fine. The smell isn’t a problem. If I knew up front that I would have needed a topper, I may have gone with a $700 mattress, or I might have looked for something with a pillow top option. But overall, I’d say I’m satisfied.

MA: Do you think you’ll keep your Purple mattress?

E: Yes.

You May Also Like...

Verified Customer Reviews

Male | MILWAUKEE, WI

Verified Reviewer
Sleeper Profile
  • Combo sleeper
  • Snores a lot
Owned mattress for: 1-2 mo.
Recommends to a friend?: Yes
Overall Satisfaction: 9/10
Show Details

On a scale from 1-10 (with 10 being the best), how would you rate your mattress on the following factors?

Mattress-Buying Experience
10
Ease of Set-up
10
Body Support
8
Motion Isolation
Responsiveness
10
Cooling Properties
8
Comfort
9
Quality
10
Value
10
Edge Support
10

Female | LOS ANGELES, CA

Verified Reviewer
Sleeper Profile
  • Sleeps with partner
  • Combo sleeper
  • Suffers from back pain
Owned mattress for: 7-12 mo.
Recommends to a friend?: Yes
Overall Satisfaction: 2/10
Show Details

On a scale from 1-10 (with 10 being the best), how would you rate your mattress on the following factors?

Mattress-Buying Experience
1
Ease of Set-up
3
Body Support
2
Motion Isolation
1
Responsiveness
2
Cooling Properties
2
Comfort
2
Quality
2
Value
3
Edge Support
2

Male | SALT LAKE CITY, UT

Verified Reviewer
Sleeper Profile
  • Sleeps with partner
  • Side sleeper
Owned mattress for: 3-6 mo.
Recommends to a friend?: Yes
Overall Satisfaction: 10/10
Show Details

On a scale from 1-10 (with 10 being the best), how would you rate your mattress on the following factors?

Mattress-Buying Experience
9
Ease of Set-up
8
Body Support
10
Motion Isolation
9
Responsiveness
8
Cooling Properties
9
Comfort
10
Quality
10
Value
8
Edge Support
10

Male | CHARLOTTE, NC

Verified Reviewer
Sleeper Profile
  • Side sleeper
Owned mattress for: 1-2 mo.
Recommends to a friend?: Yes
Overall Satisfaction: 10/10
Show Details

On a scale from 1-10 (with 10 being the best), how would you rate your mattress on the following factors?

Mattress-Buying Experience
9
Ease of Set-up
9
Body Support
9
Motion Isolation
Responsiveness
10
Cooling Properties
10
Comfort
10
Quality
10
Value
10
Edge Support
10

Comments (0)