Purple mattress

By clicking on the product links in this article, Mattress Advisor may receive a commission fee at no cost to you, the reader. Read full disclosure statement.

Purple Mattress Review

We compared, tested and rated more than 100 different mattresses. See why the Purple mattress is a great option for pain relief!

(Note: This review is for the original Purple mattress, but we’ve also reviewed the Purple .2, Purple .3 and Purple .4 models.)

Customer Rating: 4.6/5
Mattress Advisor Score:       8.4/10

Get FREE Sheets + Plush Pillow ($193 value)!

The Purple mattress is the original model from the eclectic brand Purple. You may recognize this model from commercials with a human being dropped on an egg on the mattress, or maybe you’ve just noticed their brand for its bright colors.

In this review, we’ll give you the rundown of how great the Purple mattress actually is when it comes to bed-in-a-box mattresses. We’ll explain how the Purple mattress performed in our testing, show you what customers think, and give you an overview what you can expect from this bed. Read on to learn more about the Purple.

Purple Mattress Highlights

  • The Purple is a mattress with a big personality, but it does have a lot to boast about: it sleeps cool, is great for spinal alignment and does a good job with reducing any movement you’ll feel from other people (or animals).
  • Customers who own the Purple have claimed it’s helped them relieve back and neck pains.
  • The Purple is topped with a unique pressure-releasing material that is especially great for back and side sleepers – when you lie on your back, it will help your spine maintain its natural curve and when you lie on your side, it will help keep your spine straight.
  • It’s one of our top-rated best hybrid mattresses we’ve tested and it’s one of the best mattresses for athletes.

Purple Mattress Review

Check out our video below to see how the Purple mattress performed in our testing in the Mattress Lab.

What Makes the Purple a Great Mattress?

To understand the Purple difference, it helps to understand a bit of the history behind the mattress. Purple was designed by two engineer brothers: Tony with 13 years of experience in advanced aerospace materials, and Terry with 20 years of experience in manufacturing, design, and project management.

After years of developing high-tech sporting goods and wheelchairs, they decided to put their brains together and design a mattress specifically engineered to relieve pressure and provide proper spine alignment.

Purple’s patented grid technology has been used and tested by medical professionals and consumers for over 20 years. The grid formation in the hyper-elastic polymer layer creates walls that can support or fold, depending on how much pressure is put on it.

“Our material [Purple’s Hyper-Elastic Polymer® Smart Comfort Grid™] was developed, originally, to help in the cushioning world where pressure relief and support are some of the most important issues. The structure of the material doesn’t have a standard spring constant effect like in foam, memory foam or springs.

“The difference is that when the pressure is applied to our material, it will push back until it gets to what we call the ‘buckle point’. The pressure goes up but at that point, the pressure drops back off. It is a very unique feeling. Hips and shoulders, areas that apply higher pressure but are also areas that are smaller are able to sink into the mattress. Other areas, like the lower back, are more firmly supported than is seen in many other mattress components. It can be a new feeling for many people to have the pressure taken off of those areas that typically take the higher pressure while also getting support in other, normally unsupported parts of the body.

“With that, our material will often weigh in a little heavier than some other products out there. The way that the structure ended up as we tried to get the relief and support also gave us a very open structure that can have great airflow through it. It has a fairly large, open cell structure compared to the much smaller cells in foams.”

– Russel Whatcott, Director of Innovation at Purple

You won’t find the materials used to make the Purple mattress in any other mattress on the market.

What to watch out for

Because the Purple mattress is crafted with a truly unique material, it may take some time to get used to. It won’t compare to other mattresses you’ve slept on, so make sure you give it a good 30 nights before you make your final decision on whether or not to keep it.


Mattress Advisor Score for the Purple Mattress

Take a look at our score breakdown for the Purple mattress to help you understand which areas this mattress excels in. Our final score is a combined weighted total of each score. We rate each test and the total score on a scale of one to 10.

You can learn more about our scoring system and review process here.

Mattress Advisor Test Score (Out of 10)
Shipping 7
Trial Period 9
Return Policy 10
Warranty 9
Set-Up 6
Motion Transfer 7.5
Edge Support 8.5
Pressure Relief 8.5
Spine Alignment 9.5
Responsiveness 7
Cooling 8
Durability 9
Customer Service 9
Social Impact 4
⭐Total Score for the Purple Mattress: 8.4/10⭐

Purple Customer Reviews

See what actual customers think of their Purple mattress to help you decide if it’s a good choice for you.

On Back Pain: “It’s the best mattress I’ve ever used. I thought it was pricey at first, but it is worth every coin and every dollar! I broke my back around 2 years ago and still have some pretty bad pain where I broke it, but Purple has actually decreased the pain which is amazing! My mother has the mattress and actually was the one who recommended it to me after I got out of the hospital.” – Rachel C.

On Lower Back Pain: “It took me a few days to get adjusted from my old bed to my new Purple Bed. After that I noticed a hugh difference with the pain in my lower back. I no long have pain in my lower back due to the new purple bed. It is very comfortable and I get great sleep.” – Shirley T.

On Cooling Properties: “So far, we love our purple original mattress. We don’t sink to the bottom or sweat all night from retained heat. No issues with chemical smells either.” – Kimberley G.

On Comfort: “I waited 3 months to review the mattress and I could not be happier. The mattress sleeps very cool and comfortable. After the first 30 days of sleeping on the mattress, I went on vacation and spent the next 2 weeks sleeping on a series of different mattress. What a difference when I returned back to my Purple mattress! This experience solidified everything for me… Without a doubt, a wonderful investment!” – Gianpaolo F.

On Firmness: “This is the first mattress I’ve ever used where the softness wasn’t a drawback. It really has a perfect balance between firmness, softness and support. I actually sleep on my back more often now because it’s so comfortable.” – Joshua I.


Product Information

Now we’ll give you all the detail you need to know about the Purple mattress, including how it can support different sleeping positions, what it’s made of, and more.

Weight

111 lbs. for queen

Thickness

9.5"

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Type

Hybrid: hyper-elastic polymer and foam

American Made

Made in the USA

How the Purple Mattress Supports Your Sleeping Position

Don’t know your sleeping position? Check out our guide on the different types of sleepers to help you figure it out.

Side Sleepers

Purple side sleeper

The Purple helps keep your spine straight while sleeping on your side and cradles pressure points, but still fills in the other curves of your body so there’s no empty support. Check out the results of Purple’s side sleeper test to learn more.

Back Sleepers

Purple allows you to maintain the natural curvature of your spine while sleeping on your back, which eliminates any unwanted pressure and fills in the rest of your body space evenly. Check out the results of Purple’s back sleeper test to learn more.

Stomach Sleepers

The Purple mattress is ideal for back and side sleepers. Sleeping on your stomach is not the best position to maintain healthy spinal alignment. And sleeping on your stomach on the Purple is no different. Over time, you may experience some discomfort or lower back pain if you’re a stomach sleeper.

Which Foundation Should You Use With a Purple?

The Purple mattress just needs a sturdy surface to sit on, whether that’s a platform, slats (3″ apart or less), box foundation, an adjustable bed frame, or even the floor.

What’s the Purple Mattress Made Of?

The Purple mattress is made with a layer of hyper-elastic polymer (designed to provide great pressure relief) on top of two layers of high-density polyurethane foam (designed for durability, support and motion isolation). Here’s a look at the layers, described from top to bottom:

Inside the Purple mattress
  • Responsive Knit Cover: Soft and stretchy cover that helps maximize the flexing properties of the Smart Comfort Grid™. The breathable design also promotes airflow to help you sleep cool.
  • Smart Comfort Grid™: Designed to cushion your shoulders and hips (pressure points), and support your body’s natural shape.
  • Plush Comfort Foam: Soft, high-density polyurethane foam designed to enhance the responsiveness and feel of the Smart Comfort Grid™.
  • Support Foam: Medium-firm, high-density polyurethane foam provides structural support to the mattress.

Purchasing Information

Before you buy a Purple mattress, be sure you know what to expect during the purchasing process.

Purchase Experience

Policy Details
Delivery Compressed in a cylinder case; delivered in 4-7 business days
Trial Period 100 nights
Warranty 10-year limited warranty
Return Policy Free returns
Financing Available through Affirm

Sizes and Pricing

Size Dimensions Standard Price*
Twin 38″ x 75″ $649
Twin XL 38” x 80” $699
Full 54″ x 76″ $899
Queen 60” x 80” $999
King 76” x 80” $1299
Cal King 72” x 84” $1299

*Prices listed are standard without sales or Mattress Advisor exclusive discounts. Check price using the button below for the best deals on the Purple mattress. 

Sheets by a Window

Compare Purple to Other Mattresses

Interested to see how Purple compares to other mattresses?
Click here to check out our comparison tool.

Compare Purple

Purple Mattress FAQs

Purple mattress mascot

How does the 100-night trial work?

Once your Purple mattress is delivered, your trial begins and you have 100 days to decide if you want to return it. If the mattress doesn’t work for you, you can receive a full refund. Purple will send a representative to come pick up your mattress and either donate or recycle it.

*Note that Purple cannot provide any refunds for purchases made through Amazon.

Can I finance my Purple mattress?

If you prefer to pay for your Purple in monthly installments, you can do so with Affirm. Finance your Purple mattress through affirm and get rates as low as 0% APR for 6 months. Just select “Affirm Monthly Payments” at checkout if you’re interested.

Does the Purple mattress sleep hot?

Purple is designed to promote airflow while you sleep, therefore making sure body heat is not getting trapped inside your mattress. It’s top layer grid formation helps it breathe and elevates your body above the foam so air can flow through freely.

What kind of sheets can I use on my Purple mattress?

Sheets that are thin and stretchy with at least 5% spandex will work best with your Purple mattress. This will help ensure that you’re reaping all the benefits from the Smart Comfort Grid™.

Purple also sells its own stretchy sheets that complement the mattress well.

Does the Purple mattress have a break-in period?

Purple will likely feel different from any other mattress you’ve slept on, so it’s recommended that you allow 30 nights for your body to properly adjust to this new sleeping surface.

If you want to feel the patented hyper-elastic polymer for yourself before ordering the mattress, you can order a free “squishy” after you share and like a few things on social media (we have one and think it could be the new fidget spinner…).

Will I need to flip my Purple mattress?

You don’t and you shouldn’t! Purple is designed to work best right side up.

How much weight can the Purple mattress support?

Although there isn’t a weight limit for the Purple mattress, it’s safe to say that it can support up to 600 pounds total.

Is the Purple mattress eco-friendly?

The Purple mattress is both allergen-resistant and non-toxic. The hyper-elastic polymer is recyclable and made from food- and food-contact-grade ingredients. The high-density foam is CertiPUR-US­® Certified, meaning it meets some of the most rigorous standards for emissions, content, performance, and durability.

Does Purple offer any service member discounts?

Purple offers a 15% discount to first responders as well as service men and women. (Applies to veterans and active duty members.) There is not a coupon code for this offer, but you can simply give them a call at 844-642-5613 to have your discount applied.

By clicking on the product links in this article, Mattress Advisor may receive a commission fee at no cost to you, the reader. Read full disclosure statement.

Purple Mattress Review IRL

Emily & Dominic: Purple Mattress Owners

Meet Emily & Dominic

Emily and Dominic live in Raleigh, NC. Emily is an editorial manager for House Method, and Dominic is a data analyst. They share their Purple mattress with each other, and while they wish their dog, Tallulah, would snuggle in with them, she prefers her own bed.

Emily and Dominic are both primarily side sleepers, and sometimes back sleepers. Emily sleeps hot, while Dominic sleeps cold. Before owning their Purple mattress, they had a Casper.

Selection and Buying Process

For the purpose of this interview, we spoke with Emily.

MA: Why were you guys in the market for a new mattress?

E: We were looking for a new mattress because the Casper was simply too firm for me. I would wake up with sore shoulders and elbows after tossing and turning most of the night.

MA: What factors did you consider when buying a mattress?

E: Dom and I like opposite things when it comes to mattresses. He likes firm and I like soft. I tend to sleep hot and he’s always cold at night. So we needed something that was going to be comfortable for both of us. We used to have a Casper and I thought it was way too firm – I felt like I was sleeping on a bag of bricks. In the past, I’ve always had mattresses that felt like a cloud, but I needed something with more give on top and good pressure point support. I didn’t want to go too soft because I needed some support for my back.

We knew that we didn’t want a budget mattress, but also didn’t want to spend more than $1,500. I did want something that was made in the USA and fast shipping was another factor for us – I needed a mattress that would be delivered within a week.

MA: Did you compare any other brands? If so, what were they?

E: Well, we already tried Casper and I didn’t like it. We actually ordered a Nectar at first because I thought it was going to be the better choice for my back pain but shipping was delayed so we had to cancel.

MA: What ultimately led you to purchase the Purple mattress?

E: We thought the price was great ($1,000) and shipping was going to be quick. A  friend also had the Purple and let us feel it out. That gel top was wicked good!

MA: Did you buy anything else from Purple?

E: We didn’t but when we bought our mattress, there was a promotion going on for a free seat cushion so we got that as well.

MA: What was your mattress buying experience like?

E: Overall, it was really simple. Purple had one option for a mattress so the digital process was super easy. The price was clear and I knew when it was going to ship. I loved that they gave me the option to track the shipment through Facebook so I didn’t have to dig through emails. By the way, I totally would have paid extra for faster shipping if that was an option.

After One Night on the Purple Mattress

Mattress was delivered on 1/10/2018; First interview was conducted on 1/11/2018

MA: Overall, how would you describe your first night on the Purple mattress?

E: I loved it. I really did love the gel top – you can tell that there’s something else there. I think it’s the perfect combination for both of us. It has give but you also don’t feel like you’re sinking. I loved the squishiness of it – it feels wild on your feet!

MA: Did you notice any difference in how you felt when you woke up?

E: I remember waking up on the Casper feeling like I hadn’t slept all night because there was no support. On the Purple, I felt a good amount of support, particularly on my hip. I felt like I had a good night’s rest when I woke up, particularly because I wasn’t tossing and turning to try and get comfortable.

MA: How does this compare to other mattresses you’ve had in the past?

E: As I mentioned earlier, the Casper was way too firm so I definitely like the firmness of the Purple better. Before the Casper, I had a mattress that felt like a cloud but it wore out so fast.

MA: How would you rank the Purple mattress on the following factors?

On a scale from 1-5 with 1 being the worst and 5 being the best.

Motion transfer (feeling little to no movement from your sleeping partner): 4.5
Support (body weight distributed evenly, no pains or aches): 5
Responsiveness (adjusts/responds to your body movements): 4.5
Temperature control (keeps you cool): 2

MA: How firm would you say the Purple is?

E: It’s a really different mattress than anything I’ve ever had. I would say it has good firm support but a softer gel top.

MA: Do you have any complaints about the Purple? Or anything you would change if you could?

E: My only complaint would be the temperature, but we are sleeping with a pretty warm duvet cover so we’re going to switch it tonight to see if it makes a difference.

MA: Do you feel like the Purple mattress was worth the price you paid?

E: Yes.

MA: Do you think you’ll keep your Purple mattress?

E: I think so, assuming the temperature issue is resolved.

After One Week on the Purple Mattress

Mattress was delivered on 1/10/2018; Second interview was conducted on 1/18/2018

MA: Overall, how would you describe your first week on the Purple mattress?

E: It did not hold up in terms of comfort. The novelty of the gel wore off kind of quickly. I still slept fine, but wasn’t as magical as the first night.

MA: How are you feeling when you wake up?

E: My hip feels much better supported. I noticed that my hip flexors are not as tight in the morning.

MA: How would you rank the Purple mattress on the following factors after sleeping on it for a week?

On a scale from 1-5 with 1 being the worst and 5 being the best.

Motion transfer (feeling little to no movement from your sleeping partner): 5
Support (body weight distributed evenly, no pains or aches): 5
Responsiveness (adjusts/responds to your body movements): 3.5
Temperature control (keeps you cool): 4

MA: Are you still happy with the firmness of your Purple?

E: Yes.

MA: Do you have any new complaints about the Purple? Or anything you would change if you could?

E: No new complaints, except for the fact that it’s losing its novelty a bit. We did find that the temperature issue from the first night was because of the nuclear blanket we were sleeping under, so that’s been resolved for the most part.

MA: Do you still feel like the Purple mattress was worth the price you paid?

E:  I think so. The smell is gone. I was concerned about that when we first got it – I thought I might have paid $1,000 for a smelly mattress, but that’s not the case anymore.

MA: Do you think you’ll keep your Purple mattress?

E: Yeah, I think so.

After One Month on the Purple Mattress

Mattress was delivered on 1/10/2018; Second interview was conducted on 2/12/2018

MA: Overall, how would you describe your first month on the Purple mattress?

E: The firmness was leaving me tossing and turning. The gel top novelty wore off and was really just too firm for me. It did not bother Dominic though – he thought it was great. We decided to add a mattress topper from The Company Store, which makes it feel very cloud-like. Naturally, I just sleep with a lot of pillows, so I like a cushy bed experience. I will say that the motion transfer has been particularly great on the Purple.

MA: How are you feeling when you wake up?

E: I sleep on my left side a lot and my left shoulder does feel a little cramped when I wake up. But since we’ve added the softer topper, I am definitely getting more consistent sleep – I’m sleeping through the night more often.

MA: How would you rank the Purple mattress on the following factors after sleeping on it for a month?

On a scale from 1-5 with 1 being the worst and 5 being the best.

Motion transfer (feeling little to no movement from your sleeping partner): 5
Support (body weight distributed evenly, no pains or aches): 5
Responsiveness (adjusts/responds to your body movements): 3.5
Temperature control (keeps you cool): 4

MA: Are you still happy with the firmness of your Purple?

E: I think I realized that I just needed a plush, cloud-like top. I don’t think any mattress would have necessarily satisfied this – I think I just needed my soft topper.

MA: Do you have any new complaints about the Purple? Or anything you would change if you could?

E: Nothing in addition to the firmness issue.

MA: Do you still feel like the Purple mattress was worth the price you paid?

E:  Yes. I don’t think it’s going to deteriorate. I think the durability is going to be fine. The smell isn’t a problem. If I knew up front that I would have needed a topper, I may have gone with a $700 mattress, or I might have looked for something with a pillow top option. But overall, I’d say I’m satisfied.

MA: Do you think you’ll keep your Purple mattress?

E: Yes.

You May Also Like...

Verified Customer Reviews

Male | MILWAUKEE, WI

Verified Reviewer
Sleeper Profile
  • Combo sleeper
  • Snores a lot
Owned mattress for: 1-2 mo.
Recommends to a friend?: Yes
Overall Satisfaction: 9/10
Show Details

On a scale from 1-10 (with 10 being the best), how would you rate your mattress on the following factors?

Mattress-Buying Experience
10
Ease of Set-up
10
Body Support
8
Motion Isolation
Responsiveness
10
Cooling Properties
8
Comfort
9
Quality
10
Value
10
Edge Support
10

Female | LOS ANGELES, CA

Verified Reviewer
Sleeper Profile
  • Sleeps with partner
  • Combo sleeper
  • Suffers from back pain
Owned mattress for: 7-12 mo.
Recommends to a friend?: Yes
Overall Satisfaction: 2/10
Show Details

On a scale from 1-10 (with 10 being the best), how would you rate your mattress on the following factors?

Mattress-Buying Experience
1
Ease of Set-up
3
Body Support
2
Motion Isolation
1
Responsiveness
2
Cooling Properties
2
Comfort
2
Quality
2
Value
3
Edge Support
2

Male | SALT LAKE CITY, UT

Verified Reviewer
Sleeper Profile
  • Sleeps with partner
  • Side sleeper
Owned mattress for: 3-6 mo.
Recommends to a friend?: Yes
Overall Satisfaction: 10/10
Show Details

On a scale from 1-10 (with 10 being the best), how would you rate your mattress on the following factors?

Mattress-Buying Experience
9
Ease of Set-up
8
Body Support
10
Motion Isolation
9
Responsiveness
8
Cooling Properties
9
Comfort
10
Quality
10
Value
8
Edge Support
10

Male | CHARLOTTE, NC

Verified Reviewer
Sleeper Profile
  • Side sleeper
Owned mattress for: 1-2 mo.
Recommends to a friend?: Yes
Overall Satisfaction: 10/10
Show Details

On a scale from 1-10 (with 10 being the best), how would you rate your mattress on the following factors?

Mattress-Buying Experience
9
Ease of Set-up
9
Body Support
9
Motion Isolation
Responsiveness
10
Cooling Properties
10
Comfort
10
Quality
10
Value
10
Edge Support
10

Comments (0)