Tuft & Needle mattress review header image

By clicking on the product links in this article, Mattress Advisor may receive a commission fee at no cost to you, the reader. Read full disclosure statement.

Tuft & Needle Mattress Review

✔️Customer Rating: 4.6/10
✔️Mattress Advisor Score: 8.7/10   
✔️Type: Foam Blend
✔️Firmness: Medium-Firm
✔️Free Shipping & Returns
✔️100-Night Sleep Trial
✔️10-Year Limited Warranty

Get 10% off your Tuft & Needle!

The bottom line: The Tuft & Needle mattress is one of the best budget mattresses that’s made to suit all types of sleepers. If you don’t have particular preferences, or you aren’t really sure what you want in a mattress, then the Tuft & Needle foam bed is a good option for you.

Who Is the Tuft & Needle Mattress Best for?

Tuft & Needle is best for: Tuft & Needle may not be best for:
  • All sleep positions
  • Those who are restless sleepers
  • People who sleep near the edge of the bed
  • Shoppers on a budget
  • Hot sleepers
  • People who sleep with a partner or pet

Tuft & Needle Mattress Review Highlights

Top-rated budget mattress

The Tuft & Needle Queen Mattress is a prime example of quality and while the price point almost threw us off a bit, we had to get our hands on it to test it out and give it a thorough review. In our in-depth Tuft & Needle mattress review, we’ll let you in on everything you should know about this bed-in-a-box mattress. We’ll show you how it performed in our testing and make the shopping decision easy for you! 

Read on to figure out if this mattress is a good fit for you.

What we love about the Tuft & Needle:

  • Tuft & Needle is known for being a universal mattress, or good for the “average” sleeper, offering one mattress design at a medium firmness level.
  • Tuft & Needle is one of the most budget-friendly options when it comes to quality foam mattresses and it’s a runner up for the best mattresses for side sleepers.
  • The Adaptive Foam layer (developed by Tuft & Needle) provides the pressure relief and support of memory foam, and the breathability and springiness of latex, without the high price tag that latex typically comes with.

Mattress Advisor Score for the Tuft & Needle Mattress

Now that you know more about the mattress and our testing process, check out the individual score breakdown for each of the tests we performed for the Tuft & Needle mattress. To learn more about our review process and decipher confusing mattress terminology, click here.

Mattress Advisor Test Score (Out of 10)
Shipping 10
Trial Period 9
Return Policy 10
Warranty 9
Set-Up 7
Motion Transfer 7.5
Edge Support 8.5
Pressure Relief 8.5
Spine Alignment 8.5
Responsiveness 8
Cooling 7
Durability 8
Customer Service 10
Social Impact 8
⭐Total Score for the Tuft & Needle Mattress: 8.7/10⭐

Tuft & Needle Performance Highlights

✅ Pros

  • Edge Support: You may not notice how good a mattress’s edge support is until you sit on the edge of the bed to tie your shoes and feel as if you’re slipping off. Tuft & Needle offers great edge support or you can lounge on the edge of the edge or comfortably sleep there.
  • Pressure Relief: People with back and joint pain need pressure point relief in a mattress. The Tuft & Needle mattress’s Adaptive foam does just that while contouring to your body.
  • Spine Alignment: Tuft & Needle keeps your spine almost perfectly straight when you’re sleeping on your side, keeping you from waking up from back pain due to misalignment.
  • Responsiveness: The Adaptive foam layer also offers you the responsiveness of latex, meaning it can keep up with combination sleepers as they toss and turn.

❌ Cons

  • The responsiveness Tuft & Needle offers is great, but that also mean it isn’t the best in motion isolation, meaning couples may be able to feel their partner’s movements.
  • Tuft & Needle is a foam blend mattress, so some people report sleeping hot in thei mattress.

Product Information

Now that we’ve hit the highlights, let’s go in depth to see if Tuft & Needle works for your sleep preferences.

How Firm is the Tuft & Needle Mattress?

Tuft & Needle is the perfect universal medium-firm, located as a 6/10 on the firmness scale. This firmness makes the Tuft & Needle work for all types of sleepers.

Tuft & Needle Firmness

What Sleeping Position Does the Tuft & Needle Mattress Support?

Being a medium-firm mattress with great responsiveness, Tuft & Needle supports all sleeping positions: back sleepers, side sleepers, stomach sleepers, and combination sleepers.

Nectar sleeping positions

Does the Tuft & Needle Mattress Sleep Hot?

Tuft & Needle is made with cooling gel memory foam and comes with a graphite cover that wicks away body heat. However, because this is a memory foam mattress, it does not sleep as cool as a bed made with latex foam or a bed with innersprings.

Tuft & Needle Cooling

How Much Weight Does the Tuft & Needle Mattress Support?

The materials in Tuft & Needle can support most body types. They do recommend that heavier people purchase a king-size bed for maximum support.

What Foundations of Bed Frames Can be Used with Tuft & Needle?

The Tuft & Needle mattress is compatible with most bed frames (platform beds, box springs, slatted frames, bunkie boards, and adjustable frames). Just make sure it’s a sturdy foundation. And if you decide to use a slatted platform, just make sure the slats are no more than 5″ apart.

Tuft & Needle sells a few frames and foundations that are designed to work with their mattress. Their Basics line includes a more simplistic Metal Base which can be used in conjunction with their Box Foundation or an existing box spring.

Nectar compatible bases

What is the Tuft & Needle Mattress Made of?

Tuft & Needle is a universal all-foam mattress. Their T&N Adaptive proprietary foam works to draw heat from your body and disperse it out of the mattress. It’s ideal for sleepers of any size or weight because the more pressure you put on it, the more it reacts to support you.

  1. Top layer: The Adaptive® foam comfort layer is designed to carry heat away from your body and adapt to your movements while you sleep.
  2. Base layer: Foundation support foam provides durability and structureto Tuft and Needle.
  3. Cover: This light and airy fabric promotes airflow to keep you cool.

Durability

We didn’t have too many doubts about the overall durability of this mattress because when we noticed that this mattress came with a 10 year warranty without any gimmicks attached, we know that Tuft & Needle has to mean business. No sane company would offer a 10 year warranty on a product that they didn’t know was top notch, right?

For couples, the overall durability of the foam material used in the mattress is great because you won’t disturb your sleeping partner when you get up.

Tuft & Needle Mattress Sizes, Dimensions, and Pricing

Size Dimensions Weight Price*
Twin 39” x 75” x 10” 50 lbs. $350
Twin XL 39” x 80” x 10” 52 lbs. $395
Full 54” x 75” x 10” 63 lbs. $495
Queen 60” x 80” x 10” 72 lbs. $595
King 76” x 80” x 10” 94 lbs. $750
California King 72” x 84” x 10” 94 lbs. $750

*Prices do not reflect exclusive offers or discounts. Click below to see the best price for the Tuft & Needle mattress.

Tuft & Needle Mattress Unboxing

Your new mattress arrives at your door compressed down and rolled into a box. It took us about 3 minutes to unbox that mattress, and because of its size and weight (72 lbs. for a queen size), we recommend tagging in a partner to help. We didn’t notice any strong chemical smell, and any off-gassing odor went away within a few hours.


Tuft & Needle Purchase Experience

Policy Details
Delivery Compressed and rolled in a box; delivered in 1-5 business days
Trial Period 100 days
Warranty 10-year limited warranty
Return Policy Free returns
Financing Available through Affirm

 

Tuft & Needle Mattress Shipping and Delivery

The Tuft & Needle bed typically arrives within 2-5 business days. You get free shipping in the continental U.S. Those that live in Alaska or Hawaii will have a small shipping fee. T&N has a special offer for same-day delivery for customers in certain parts of Phoenix, New York City and the San Francisco Bay Area. If you qualify for this service, you will be able to select this option at checkout.

Tuft & Needle Mattress Sleep Trial

Once you receive your Tuft & Needle mattress, you have 100 nights to decide if it’s a good fit for you. During this trial period, if you decide to return the mattress, you can contact T&N’s customer support team. A representative will pick up your mattress and donate it to a local charity.

Tuft & Needle Mattress Warranty

You get a 10-year warranty with your Tuft & Needle that covers impressions deepers than ¾”, manufacturer defects, and flaws in the foam. To file a claim, email Tuft & Needle at support@tn.com.

Tuft & Needle Mattress Customer Service

If you have a question, want to file a claim, or would just like to chat, you can contactTuft & Needle’s customer service by their live chat feature, calling (877) 842-2586, or emailing support@tn.com.

Here is what a few customers had to say about their customer service experience:

  • “I won’t lie- this was a lot firmer than I was hoping. I had voiced my opinion via email and Tuft and Needle sent me a topper. This made a world of difference! So comfortable now. My 5 year old and dog also love it- I plan to purchase T&N mattresses for my sons new bunk bed and a dog bed for my schnauzer. Excellent customer service and super happy with this purchase. Would highly recommend.” -S.M.
  • “Prior to tuft and needle I researched mattresses like CRAZY! After weeks and weeks of looking through competitors I knew that I wanted to give tuft and needle a try. The excellent reviews and customer service really peaked my interest and my friend who has had a tuft and needle mattress for three years convinced me to go through with my purchase. Oh my gosh. I’m so glad I did! I’ve been sleeping so much better and don’t have as much back pain! On my previous mattress I would toss and turn and would need to wake up in the middle of the night to crack my back! Since switching to tuft and needle I have not had one night like that again. My husband also loooooves his memory foam pillow! No more neck pain! Overall I’m very happy with my mattress.” -Anonymous

Tuft & Needle Mattress Return Policy

Note that orders placed through Amazon will also have a 100-night trial period but must be returned through Amazon.


Customer Reviews for the Tuft & Needle

Tuft & Needle mattress family

On Value

  • “This is our second mattress buy from Tuft & Needle. It’s great value for an extremely comfortable sleep, and quick shipping to boot.” -Newt
  • “It was easy to order, affordable and arrived on time. It’s is so comfy and my back feels so much better since we started sleeping on it. Highly recommend!” -Carrie V.

On Comfort

  • Best mattress! I’ve done a lot of research and watched A LOT of reviews to find the matress that is right for me. I’m so glad I went with Tuft and Needle! It took about a week to break it in just as mentioned in the little booklet it comes with. It is not memory foam which is awesome because you don’t feel like you are sinking, which makes it easy to move around. It’s the perfect balance between soft and firm. All of that with the added bonus of being really inexpensive for the quality. As far as longevity, my sister had hers for about 13 years and no sleeping imprints or signs of wear and tear. Thanks for a great night’s sleep Tuft and Needle!” -S.G.
  • “For me, this mattress is the perfect combination of semi firmness and yet a bit of give for my 140 lb. body. Prior to purchasing I tried other beds in stores and was not happy. Both of my daughters have had Tuft and Needle mattresses for several years and love them. I would highly recommend this mattress. Be prepared to unwrap layers of film…it’s fun when you finally get to the end, break the suction seal and take off the mattress packaging, lay out your mattress, and watch it expand!!” -T.W.

On Pain Relief

  • “I love it! I sleep so much better. My joints don’t hurt anymore so the bed does wonders for my pressure points. I’m also pregnant so this is a HUGE feat!” -Lexie
  • Best mattress we have ever had! Can’t feel each other toss and turn, stay cool all night, and our chiropractor is thrilled with our spine alignment!” -Ashlee J.

See How Tuft & Needle Compares

Sheets by a Window

Compare Tuft & Needle to Other Mattresses

Interested to see how Tuft & Needle compares to other mattresses?
Click here to check out our comparison tool.

Compare Tuft & Needle

Other Products Sold by Tuft & Needle

Tuft & Needle Mint mattress review

The Mint Mattress

Check out the advanced Tuft & Needle mattress made with Adaptive foam for a 30% cooler night’s sleep.

Tuft & Needle Hybrid stock image

The Hybrid Mattress

Check out Tuft & Needle’s hybrid mattress made with a system of pocketed coils for added responsiveness.

Outside Tuft & Needle Gilbert, AZ

Other Bedding by Tuft & Needle


Tuft & Needle Mattress FAQs

Do members of the Military receive a special discount?

All first responders and those in the Military are offered a 15% discount on all Tuft and Needle products.

Can I try out the Tuft & Needle mattress in a store before I buy it?

Tuft & Needle has several retail stores in Arizona and Washington where you can try the mattresses, pillows and sheets. Some Lowe’s locations across the US carry an inventory of Tuft & Needle mattresses as well. You won’t be able to test the mattress here, but you can purchase it and take it home the same day.

Remember, you have 100 nights to try out the Tuft & Needle mattress in your home risk-free!

Can I finance my Tuft & Needle mattress?

Financing is available through Affirm. You can select this option at checkout. Note that financing is not available in West Virginia and Iowa.

What kind of sheets can I use on the Tuft & Needle?

Any standard bed sheets will pair well with a Tuft & Needle mattress. You will not need deep-pocketed sheets.

Does the Tuft & Needle mattress need to be flipped?

No – the Tuft & Needle mattress is should only be used on one side.

Is the Tuft & Needle mattress eco-friendly?

The foams used to build the Tuft & Needle mattresses are CertiPUR-US® certified, meaning they meet some of the most rigorous standards for emissions, content, performance, and durability.

By clicking on the product links in this article, Mattress Advisor may receive a commission fee at no cost to you, the reader. Read full disclosure statement.

Tuft & Needle Mattress Review IRL

Meet Nathan

Nathan, a software developer from North Carolina, is a side sleeper by nature aspiring to be a back sleeper. Although he tries to fall asleep on his back, somehow, he always ends up back on his side… don’t we all? Although he isn’t a hot sleeper, he does suffer for low-back and neck pain. At this point in time, Nathan sleeps alone.

Before owning his Tuft & Needle, Nathan slept on an old Serta mattress that had been passed down in his family for years.

Selection and Buying Process

MA: Why were you in the market for a new mattress?

N: My former mattress was really old and had bad support. I often found myself sinking because it was losing its shape. Not to mention, it wasn’t very comfortable.

I have low back pain so that’s what really made me take action.

MA: What factors did you consider when buying a mattress?

N: I was obviously looking for something supportive because of my lower back pain.

In my research, I actually came across Mattress Advisor’s article on the best mattresses for back pain. I read I needed something firm. In the article, all the mattresses were a 6 or above for firmness (out of a 10-point scale). However, I wanted something soft enough that I could sleep on my side comfortably.

Lastly, I was looking for something affordable.

MA: Did you compare any other brands? If so, what were they?

N: I considered all the mattresses listed in the back pain article that were medium-firm. The main brands I looked into were Bear and Leesa. I ultimately went with T&N because of the price.

MA: What ultimately led you to purchase the Tuft & Needle mattress?

N: The firmness factor was there, but I went with it because of the price. The reviews of the three I was considering seemed pretty similar.

MA: What was your mattress buying experience like?

N: Overall, everything went smooth. However, when I purchased my mattress, it was back ordered (aka they were out). So it took a little longer to get it. Normally it takes 7 days to arrive, but for me, it took 10. Tuft & Needle was really great about communicating that!

After One Night...

Mattress was delivered on 5/14/2018; First interview was conducted on 5/15/2018

MA: Overall, how would you describe your first night on the Tuft & Needle mattress?

N: Good. I fell asleep fairly quickly. The mattress was soft but still supportive – it felt really good. There was no more sinking sensation. I woke up 45 minutes before my alarm, but still felt really rested!

Unboxing my mattress was not bed. It took me 6 minutes to open it (because I had to do a lot of cutting with my knife), with the help of my brother. I noticed there was a smell at first, but I could only smell it a little when I went to bed. Not enough to bother me.

MA: Did you notice any difference in how you felt when you woke up?

N: I felt rested and woke up earlier than normal.

MA: How does this compare to other mattresses you’ve had in the past?

N: Definitely superior. Way more comfortable.

MA: How would you rank the Tuft & Needle mattress on the following factors?

On a scale from 1-5 with 1 being the worst and 5 being the best.

Motion transfer (feeling little to no movement from your sleeping partner): N/A
Support (body weight distributed evenly, no pains or aches): 5
Responsiveness (adjusts/responds to your body movements): 5
Temperature control (keeps you cool): 4

MA: How firm would you say the Tuft & Needle is?

N:  6/10

MA: Do you have any complaints about the Tuft & Needle? Or anything you would change if you could?

N: Nope.

MA: Do you feel like the Tuft & Needle mattress was worth the price you paid?

N: Yes.

MA: What is one thing you would change about this mattress if you could?

N: It’s better than my other one so I don’t know what I would change! Maybe, the fact it can’t go on slats.

MA: Do you think you’ll keep your Tuft & Needle mattress?

N: Yes, so far.

After One Week...

Mattress was delivered on 5/14/2018; Second interview was conducted on 5/22/2018

MA: Overall, how would you describe your first week on the Tuft & Needle mattress?

N: I loved my first week on the mattress.  I really like the support it provides. My lower back pain has noticeably reduced.

MA: How are you feeling when you wake up?

N:  I am waking up easier in the morning and feel well rested. Consistent sleep has helped me stay on a routine schedule.

MA: How would you rank the Tuft & Needle mattress on the following factors after sleeping on it for a week?

On a scale from 1-5 with 1 being the worst and 5 being the best.

Motion transfer (feeling little to no movement from your sleeping partner): 4
Support (body weight distributed evenly, no pains or aches): 5
Responsiveness (adjusts/responds to your body movements): 5
Temperature control (keeps you cool): 4

MA: Are you still happy with the firmness of your Tuft & Needle?

N: I am still enjoying my mattress.

MA: Do you have any new complaints about the Tuft & Needle? Or anything you would change if you could?

N: I am not as impressed with the edge support as I was initially.

MA: Do you still feel like the Tuft & Needle mattress was worth the price you paid?

N:   Yes.

MA: What is one thing you would change about this mattress if you could?

N:  I would like it to be just a little bit softer on my shoulders when I am sleeping on my side.

MA: Do you think you’ll keep your Tuft & Needle mattress?

N: Yes.

After One Month...

Mattress was delivered on 5/14/2018; Third interview was conducted on 6/15/2018

MA: Overall, how would you describe your first month on the Tuft & Needle mattress?

N: I have slept great over the past month.  I find myself looking forward to laying down on my mattress at night. The amount of time that it takes me to fall asleep is less than what it was before.  So, overall a solid first month.

MA: How are you feeling when you wake up?

N: I feel well rested.  My only complaint is that I still have pain in my shoulders at times.  I’m not sure if this is due to the mattress being too firm.

MA: How would you rank the Tuft & Needle mattress on the following factors after sleeping on it for a month?

On a scale from 1-5 with 1 being the worst and 5 being the best.

Motion transfer (feeling little to no movement from your sleeping partner): 5
Support (body weight distributed evenly, no pains or aches): 4
Responsiveness (adjusts/responds to your body movements): 5
Temperature control (keeps you cool): 4

MA: Are you still happy with the firmness of your Tuft & Needle?

N: I believe that mattress is the perfect firmness for sleeping on my back, but a little too firm for sleeping on my side.  Since I prefer to sleep on my back I am happy with the firmness.

MA: Do you have any new complaints about the Tuft & Needle? Or anything you would change if you could?

N:  It can be a little bit hot at times. Also, I would like it to be just a couple inches longer since I find that my feet are pretty close to the edge.

MA: Do you still feel like the Tuft & Needle mattress was worth the price you paid?

N:  Yes.

MA: Do you think you’ll keep your Tuft & Needle mattress?

N: Yes.

You May Also Like...

Similar materials

Casper

Similar firmness

Lull

Similar price point

Nectar

T&N's "step-up"

Tuft & Needle Mint

Verified Customer Reviews

Male | Raleigh, NC

Verified Reviewer
Sleeper Profile
  • Side sleeper
  • Suffers from back pain
Owned mattress for: 0-2 mo.
Recommends to a friend?: yes
Overall Satisfaction: 9/10
Show Details

On a scale from 1-10 (with 10 being the best), how would you rate your mattress on the following factors?

Mattress-Buying Experience
8
Ease of Set-up
9
Body Support
9
Motion Isolation
9
Responsiveness
10
Cooling Properties
7
Comfort
9
Quality
9
Value
9
Edge Support
7

Male | OMAHA, NE

Verified Reviewer
Sleeper Profile
  • Sleeps with others
  • Side sleeper
Owned mattress for: 3-6 mo.
Recommends to a friend?: Yes
Overall Satisfaction: 9/10
Show Details

On a scale from 1-10 (with 10 being the best), how would you rate your mattress on the following factors?

Mattress-Buying Experience
8
Ease of Set-up
9
Body Support
9
Motion Isolation
Responsiveness
9
Cooling Properties
9
Comfort
9
Quality
9
Value
7
Edge Support
8

Female | ST. LOUIS, MO

Verified Reviewer
Sleeper Profile
  • Sleeps with partner and pet(s)
  • Combo sleeper
  • Restless sleeper
Owned mattress for: 12+ mo.
Recommends to a friend?: yes
Overall Satisfaction: 10/10
Show Details

On a scale from 1-10 (with 10 being the best), how would you rate your mattress on the following factors?

Mattress-Buying Experience
10
Ease of Set-up
10
Body Support
10
Motion Isolation
10
Responsiveness
10
Cooling Properties
8
Comfort
10
Quality
10
Value
10
Edge Support
10

Male | DETROIT, MI

Verified Reviewer
Sleeper Profile
  • Back sleeper
Owned mattress for: 3-6 mo.
Recommends to a friend?: Yes
Overall Satisfaction: 10/10
Show Details

On a scale from 1-10 (with 10 being the best), how would you rate your mattress on the following factors?

Mattress-Buying Experience
1
Ease of Set-up
8
Body Support
8
Motion Isolation
Responsiveness
8
Cooling Properties
10
Comfort
8
Quality
9
Value
7
Edge Support
10

Female | PHOENIX (PRESCOTT), AZ

Verified Reviewer
Sleeper Profile
  • Side sleeper
Owned mattress for: 1-2 mo.
Recommends to a friend?: Yes
Overall Satisfaction: 9/10
Show Details

On a scale from 1-10 (with 10 being the best), how would you rate your mattress on the following factors?

Mattress-Buying Experience
9
Ease of Set-up
9
Body Support
9
Motion Isolation
Responsiveness
9
Cooling Properties
6
Comfort
9
Quality
9
Value
9
Edge Support
9

Male | PHOENIX (PRESCOTT), AZ

Verified Reviewer
Sleeper Profile
  • Sleeps with partner
  • Side sleeper
Owned mattress for: 1-2 mo.
Recommends to a friend?: Yes
Overall Satisfaction: 10/10
Show Details

On a scale from 1-10 (with 10 being the best), how would you rate your mattress on the following factors?

Mattress-Buying Experience
10
Ease of Set-up
10
Body Support
10
Motion Isolation
9
Responsiveness
10
Cooling Properties
10
Comfort
10
Quality
10
Value
10
Edge Support
9

Comments (0)