The Tuft & Needle Mattress Review In Real Life

Check out these sleepers real life experience with the Tuft & Needle mattress

Tuft & Needle mattress review

We find that most people leave reviews about their new mattress after only a few nights of sleeping on it, or sometimes even before they set it up…super helpful, right? This doesn’t give you any insight on how they feel after sleeping on the mattress for a while, which is the important part. So we asked real people a few questions about how they chose their mattress and what their experience has been like after sleeping on it for a year.

While every sleeper is different, we hope these sleeperr’s mattress journey will help you in your own search.

Meet Nathan

Nathan, a software developer from North Carolina, is a side sleeper by nature aspiring to be a back sleeper. Although he tries to fall asleep on his back, somehow, he always ends up back on his side… don’t we all? Although he isn’t a hot sleeper, he does suffer for low-back and neck pain. At this point in time, Nathan sleeps alone.

Nathan on his Tuft & Needle mattress

Before owning his Tuft & Needle, Nathan slept on an old Serta mattress that had been passed down in his family for years.

The selection and buying process

MA: Why were you in the market for a new mattress?

N: My former mattress was really old and had bad support. I often found myself sinking because it was losing its shape. Not to mention, it wasn’t very comfortable.

I have low back pain so that’s what really made me take action.

MA: What factors did you consider when buying a mattress?

N: I was obviously looking for something supportive because of my lower back pain.

In my research, I actually came across Mattress Advisor’s article on the best mattresses for back pain. I read I needed something firm. In the article, all the mattresses were a 6 or above for firmness (out of a 10-point scale). However, I wanted something soft enough that I could sleep on my side comfortably.

Lastly, I was looking for something affordable.

In my research, I came across Mattress Advisor’s article on the best mattresses for back pain.

MA: Did you compare any other brands? If so, what were they?

N: I considered all the mattresses listed in the back pain article that were medium-firm. The main brands I looked into were Bear and Leesa. I ultimately went with T&N because of the price.

I ultimately went with Tuft & Needle because of the price.

MA: What ultimately led you to purchase the Tuft & Needle mattress?

N: The firmness factor was there, but I went with it because of the price. The reviews of the three I was considering seemed pretty similar.

MA: What was your mattress buying experience like?

N: Overall, everything went smooth. However, when I purchased my mattress, it was back ordered (aka they were out). So it took a little longer to get it. Normally it takes 7 days to arrive, but for me, it took 10. Tuft & Needle was really great about communicating that!


One night calendar icon

After sleeping on the Tuft & Needle for one night

Mattress was delivered on 5/14/2018; First interview was conducted on 5/15/2018

MA: Overall, how would you describe your first night on the Tuft & Needle mattress?

N: Good. I fell asleep fairly quickly. The mattress was soft but still supportive – it felt really good. There was no more sinking sensation. I woke up 45 minutes before my alarm, but still felt really rested!

Unboxing my mattress was not bed. It took me 6 minutes to open it (because I had to do a lot of cutting with my knife), with the help of my brother. I noticed there was a smell at first, but I could only smell it a little when I went to bed. Not enough to bother me.

MA: Did you notice any difference in how you felt when you woke up?

N: I felt rested and woke up earlier than normal.

MA: How does this compare to other mattresses you’ve had in the past?

N: Definitely superior. Way more comfortable.

MA: How would you rank the Tuft & Needle mattress on the following factors?

On a scale from 1-5 with 1 being the worst and 5 being the best.

Motion transfer (feeling little to no movement from your sleeping partner): N/A
Support (body weight distributed evenly, no pains or aches): 5
Responsiveness (adjusts/responds to your body movements): 5
Temperature control (keeps you cool): 4

MA: How firm would you say the Tuft & Needle is?

N:  6/10

MA: Do you have any complaints about the Tuft & Needle? Or anything you would change if you could?

N: Nope.

MA: Do you feel like the Tuft & Needle mattress was worth the price you paid?

N: Yes.

MA: What is one thing you would change about this mattress if you could?

N: It’s better than my other one so I don’t know what I would change! Maybe, the fact it can’t go on slats.

MA: Do you think you’ll keep your Tuft & Needle mattress?

N: Yes, so far.


One week calendar icon

After sleeping on the Tuft & Needle for one week

Mattress was delivered on 5/14/2018; Second interview was conducted on 5/22/2018

MA: Overall, how would you describe your first week on the Tuft & Needle mattress?

N: I loved my first week on the mattress.  I really like the support it provides. My lower back pain has noticeably reduced.

I loved my first week on the mattress! I really like the support it provides. My lower back pain has noticeably reduced.

MA: How are you feeling when you wake up?

N:  I am waking up easier in the morning and feel well rested. Consistent sleep has helped me stay on a routine schedule.

MA: How would you rank the Tuft & Needle mattress on the following factors after sleeping on it for a week?

On a scale from 1-5 with 1 being the worst and 5 being the best.

Motion transfer (feeling little to no movement from your sleeping partner): 4
Support (body weight distributed evenly, no pains or aches): 5
Responsiveness (adjusts/responds to your body movements): 5
Temperature control (keeps you cool): 4

MA: Are you still happy with the firmness of your Tuft & Needle?

N: I am still enjoying my mattress.

MA: Do you have any new complaints about the Tuft & Needle? Or anything you would change if you could?

N: I am not as impressed with the edge support as I was initially.

MA: Do you still feel like the Tuft & Needle mattress was worth the price you paid?

N:   Yes.

MA: What is one thing you would change about this mattress if you could?

N:  I would like it to be just a little bit softer on my shoulders when I am sleeping on my side.

MA: Do you think you’ll keep your Tuft & Needle mattress?

N: Yes.


One month calendar icon

after sleeping on the Tuft & Needle for one month

Mattress was delivered on 5/14/2018; Third interview was conducted on 6/15/2018

MA: Overall, how would you describe your first month on the Tuft & Needle mattress?

N: I have slept great over the past month.  I find myself looking forward to laying down on my mattress at night. The amount of time that it takes me to fall asleep is less than what it was before.  So, overall a solid first month.

MA: How are you feeling when you wake up?

N: I feel well rested.  My only complaint is that I still have pain in my shoulders at times.  I’m not sure if this is due to the mattress being too firm.

MA: How would you rank the Tuft & Needle mattress on the following factors after sleeping on it for a month?

On a scale from 1-5 with 1 being the worst and 5 being the best.

Motion transfer (feeling little to no movement from your sleeping partner): 5
Support (body weight distributed evenly, no pains or aches): 4
Responsiveness (adjusts/responds to your body movements): 5
Temperature control (keeps you cool): 4

MA: Are you still happy with the firmness of your Tuft & Needle?

N: I believe that mattress is the perfect firmness for sleeping on my back, but a little too firm for sleeping on my side.  Since I prefer to sleep on my back I am happy with the firmness.

MA: Do you have any new complaints about the Tuft & Needle? Or anything you would change if you could?

N:  It can be a little bit hot at times. Also, I would like it to be just a couple inches longer since I find that my feet are pretty close to the edge.

MA: Do you still feel like the Tuft & Needle mattress was worth the price you paid?

N:  Yes.

MA: Do you think you’ll keep your Tuft & Needle mattress?

N: Yes.


Next, we talk to Julie & Kevin about their experience sleeping on the Tuft & Needle for one year.

Meet Julie & Kevin

Julie & Kevin live in Winston-Salem, NC. Julie works for a data technology company and Kevin works in banking. They share their Tuft & Needle mattress with each other and their dog, Frankie.

Julie is a side sleeper and Kevin is a side and back sleeper. Before owning their Tuft & Needle mattress, they had a Serta mattress. 

For the purpose of this interview, we spoke with Julie.

The selection and buying process

MA: Why were you guys in the market for a new mattress?

J: We had a Serta mattress previously and I really hated it – it was kind of soft and I was having a lot of lower back pain.

MA: What factors did you consider when buying a mattress?

J: I have a strong dislike for mattress stores – I’ve noticed that there’s one on just about every corner in Winston-Salem. We started our search there and I felt so uncomfortable from the attention from the sales reps in the store. We went in to shop a few different times and finally, my husband was like, “OK, we have to make a decision.”

So then I started talking to one of my co-workers who just bought a Leesa and was raving about it. At that point, I started doing the research for online mattresses. I knew I wanted something firmer and didn’t want to spend a ton. At the mattress stores, I was looking at spending $3,000 on a mattress that I’d probably have to replace in 5 years anyway, but I realized there were better options out there.

I was looking at spending $3,000 on a mattress that I’d probably have to replace in 5 years anyway, but I realized there were better options out there.

MA: Did you compare any other brands? If so, what were they?

J: We looked at the Leesa and Casper, in addition to the Tuft & Needle.

MA: What ultimately led you to purchase the Tuft & Needle mattress?

J: The Tuft & Needle was less expensive and their ratings were comparable to the other mattresses we were looking at. I also figured that I could always return it and get my money back if I didn’t like it.

MA: Did you buy anything else from Tuft & Needle?

J: Just the mattress.

MA: What was your mattress buying experience like?

J: It was ridiculously easy. Checkout was simple and it was shipped it to me within a couple of days of ordering it. I got an email from them welcoming me to the family, but they didn’t email me all the time, which I appreciated. Overall it was a great experience and I was happy with the interactions. They checked in after 30 days to make sure I was happy with my purchase too.


One year calendar iconAfter sleeping on the tuft & needle for a year

Mattress was bought in September 2016; Interview was conducted in September 2017  

MA: Now that you’ve had your Tuft & Needle for a year, how would you describe the quality of sleep you get on it?

J: It’s been great. I told my husband that even if this only lasts 2-3 years, it’s still better than buying a traditional mattress. After having it for a year, it still feels the same as the first month. It’s very comfortable and I don’t notice when my husband moves around. I also haven’t experienced the back issues that I had before.

After having it for a year, it still feels the same as the first month.

MA: Do you notice any difference in how you feel when you wake up?

J: With my old mattress, I would wake up with back pain and have to stretch in the morning. Now I wake up feeling refreshed and well rested.

MA: How does the Tuft & Needle compare to other mattresses you’ve had in the past?

J: The Tuft & Needle is thinner, so we did have to get different sheets. I wish it was a little thicker but it’s really not an issue. The foam was also a completely different feel. It’s firmer than our other mattress, which had a pillow top on it, but it feels better than our old one.

MA: How would you rank the Tuft & Needle mattress on the following factors?

On a scale from 1-5 with 1 being the worst and 5 being the best.

Motion transfer (feeling little to no movement from your sleeping partner): 4
Support (body weight distributed evenly, no pains or aches): 5
Responsiveness (adjusts/responds to your body movements): 5
Temperature control (keeps you cool): 4

MA: How firm would you say the Tuft & Needle mattress is?

J: I would say it’s firm but not too hard; it’s supportive. It conforms to you so you kind of feel like you’re being cocooned.

MA: Do you have any complaints about your Tuft & Needle? Or anything you would change if you could?

J: The only thing I think I would change is the height – I wish it was a little thicker.

MA: Do you feel like the Tuft & Needle mattress was worth the price you paid?

J: Absolutely.

MA: Anything else?

J: I think the way the mattress is packaged and delivered it pretty cool. I like how green it is – the packaging is a fairly small box considering there’s a mattress in it and it’s pretty neat to watch it come to life.


Think the Tuft & Needle mattress could be the one for you too? Check it out here.